Linux and NTFS file server

bluestrobe

Platinum Member
Aug 15, 2004
I switching a couple machines in my house to Ubuntu here next month, maybe sooner. My main file/data/backup server is a Win2k3 box with all NTFS drives. What would need to be done to the Linux boxes to let them see the shared drives on the file server and access/read/change those files. The easiest route is the prefered one as I am still learning the Linux OS.

I can see the server on the network with my laptop but it errors when trying to access it.

lousydood

Aug 1, 2005
Presumably you are sharing the files with Windows Networking?

Then install the program 'samba'. I'm sure Ubuntu has packages for all that.

cleverhandle

Diamond Member
Dec 17, 2001
NTFS has nothing to do with anything here. The data goes out over the network, via SMB/CIFS, so the clients don't care what the server's disk looks like. Ubuntu has Samba, no need to look. It should all get set up by default. Just click Computer->Network once you're in GNOME.

bluestrobe

Platinum Member
Aug 15, 2004
I knew about the computer>network and all of my computers are listed there with the proper names and all. The problem is I click on any of them and I get the same error for all. First paragraph is going on about security and the second paragraph tells me to "rename it to the correct extension for "x-directory/smb share" to open the file normally". I don't know what to rename it to to make it work.

skyking

Lifer
Nov 21, 2001
Have you taken care of the usual common username/password on both server and client?

bluestrobe

Platinum Member
Aug 15, 2004
I overlooked that part. You need to to enter the login/pw to access the server(win2k3) and theres no way to disable the feature. How would I get to the prompt in Linux?

At this point all I see when i open the network box is the icons with the windows names.

bluestrobe

Platinum Member
Aug 15, 2004