Linksys WRT54G router cannot find internet connection during setup.

Turkish

Lifer
May 26, 2003
I just got this router and as per instructions, I'm trying to install the software before connecting the router. Anyways, on the setup screen, it says that it will search for an internet connection and when I click "Next", it cannot find any. It gives me an error message saying that "This computer is not connected to the Internet". This is weird because at the same time I'm surfing the web and talking on AIM. What gives? :confused:

Turkish

Lifer
May 26, 2003
Originally posted by: amdskip
What software? Just login into the router and configure it.

I'm a real noob in networking, and even worse in wireless networking. The box has stickers all around it saying "DO NOT CONNECT ROUTER BEFORE INSTALLING THE CD" :) It even has a sticker on the back of the router on the ports asking me if I installed the cd. It won't cause any trouble?

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
I installed mine last night and I had this problem at first. I unplugged my modem and left it unplugged for a half min before plugging back in and finally it found it.

Turkish

Lifer
May 26, 2003
Originally posted by: Skoorb
I installed mine last night and I had this problem at first. I unplugged my modem and left it unplugged for a half min before plugging back in and finally it found it.

That's weird, I'll try that. Thanks Skoorb :)

Slowlearner

Mar 20, 2000
If the router is not connected, how can it find a internet connection? There is no software to install. While I am not familiar with this router, I would guess that the CD will probably open a browser window to configure the router.