legitreviews.com

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by VirtualLarry, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,723
    Likes Received:
    91
    I searched for A10-4600M, and was led to a page on legitreviews.com.

    Now when I attempt to close the page, it brings up a dialog box asking me if I really want to leave the page. I REALLY DISLIKE those "page trap" dialogs.

    IMHO, no legit web site would ever use those. Thus, "Legit"reviews isn't so legit in my book.

    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1931/1/

    Edit: MAYBE HACKED. DO NOT CLICK.

    Edit: Reported to be fixed?
     
    #1 VirtualLarry, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  2. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's legit. They probably just don't want you to leave without clicking on some ads I guess :D. Don't worry about it.
     
  3. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think they've been hacked:

    [​IMG]

    ^ that is what I get when I go to your link.

    I don't know what that toolkit does, but Norton blocked it and I was able to close the page without getting the popup you got. You may be infected since you got the pop-up.
     
  4. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,615
    Likes Received:
    3
    No such issue here
     
  5. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Wow IDC,good thing I haven't clicked on it :O. My AVG free might have failed for the 1st time,who knows :p
     
  6. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,723
    Likes Received:
    91
    Ok, that's a little scary, IDC. I don't run an AV on this box. Is Waterfox 13.0 vulnerable? Flash Player (dunno what version I'm running)?

    Any way to know how to check for infection?

    http://www.symantec.com/security_response/attacksignatures/detail.jsp?asid=24092

    Symantec claims you should download and run their "Norton Power Eraser", which I did, and it came up clean, except for "Hosts", but I know I modified my hosts file manually, so that's not a problem.
     
    #6 VirtualLarry, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  7. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,153
    Likes Received:
    39
    MS Security essentials is free.
     
  8. Zstream

    Zstream Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    6
    Every now and then I get an ad from Anandtech that takes up the entire page.... *shrug*
     
  9. Jaydip

    Jaydip Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,615
    Likes Received:
    3
  10. jacktesterson

    jacktesterson Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Chrome warns me of malware when I click the link....
     
  11. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    You did exactly what I would do (download the free cleaner and give it a go), if it came up clean then I would personally conclude my system was clean.

    You will know if it isn't clean if you start getting browser hijacks (redirects).

    The other one you could try is superantispyware which a free trial for their pro edition, install that just to give your system a once-over.

    When I was visiting some, uh, questionable websites :sneaky: it was able to find stuff that was causing browser hijacks that Norton wasn't able to find. Just sayen ;) Surfing the web is like being in college and it is the weekend, protection is key.
     
  12. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    12,004
    Likes Received:
    32
    Whenever I come across one of those dialog prompts I immediately kill the browser process. Any input from a dialog could be inviting trouble.
     
  13. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm of the exact same school of thought. Just because the dialogue boxes are labeled "cancel" or "ok" doesn't mean you aren't actually agreeing to "go ahead and install your root-kit, I accept".

    The label on the button and the action that comes from clicking the button are not required to be the same, you just hope they are.

    Instead, pull open task manager and deep-6 the PID for the browser itself.
     
  14. Majic 7

    Majic 7 Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Took a chance on my new install of Widows 8 and clicked on the link. No pop up, no warning from defender or Malwarebytes Pro. I do have every security option except in private browsing ticked. I just had to see if 8 and IE10 does make a difference. Scanned with both Defender and MB Pro and nothing showed up. I finally have something that uses 8 threads, Defender was going over 80% on all threads occasionally, usually about 50%.
     
    #14 Majic 7, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  15. kowalabearhugs

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run AdBlocker, Ghostery and NoScript. Pages load much faster and I maintain a lil more privacy. Many popups are javascript based - NoScript simply removes these scripts sans the items in my whitelist. Temporary and permanent whitelisting is available.
     
  16. kaos kid

    kaos kid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was an Ad Server exploit. They have deleted the old Ad Server and Database and have installed new. All should be fine now.
     
  17. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,653
    Likes Received:
    1
    In the future you guys may want to contact infected sites ASAP alerting them of problems, so fewer people will get infected.
     
  18. kaos kid

    kaos kid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just ran "virustotal" scan for "LegitReviews.com"and it came up clean 0/31

    So feel free to go back and check out the reviews!
     
  19. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't get the norton warning now when I visit their site or your link in the OP. Looks like they fixed it :thumbsup:

    And hopefully they suffer no long-term effects in terms of negative publicity because of the ad breach, legitreviews is legit :thumbsup: Vigilance is key though, this is what being a community is all about, so I'm glad to see it came up for discussion versus no one bothering to warn each other of the situation :)
     
  20. Aikouka

    Aikouka Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    27,081
    Likes Received:
    5
    I recall Anandtech having at least one malevolent ad in its rotation before. Most sites use third party ad rotation services, which appear to not be infallible. :p
     
  21. podspi

    podspi Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    1

    This has been driving me nuts lately. Is there anywhere we can complain about these, since I assume AT isn't serving these on purpose?
     
  22. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Weird I don't get that problem doing what you do. gl
     
  23. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,108
    Likes Received:
    16
    AnandTech has had worse than that. They had their ad servers hacked in 2010.:|