Laptop bit the dust need replacements

zokudu

Diamond Member
Nov 11, 2009
My old Dell laptop just bit the dust a few moments ago. Sad really :(

I am looking for ideas on new laptops and wanted AT's opinions.

My old laptop was 15.6 inches but I found that a bit too big so I would like to stick around 14 inches if possible. More resolution is good but even 1366x768 should be fine on a 14 inch screen (I had that same res on my old 15 inch model never really had an issue).

My old laptop also sucked battery life like crazy, that's something I want fixed. It was my first laptop and I told myself I'd be gaming on it on the go. Well that never really happened. :D So either no dedicated GPU or optimus if possible. I'm looking for at least 4 hours or more if possible.

Outside of that anything will work. I want to keep it at around $1000. I am a student so I may qualify for student discounts.

JWade

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
www.heatware.com
i have a dell m4110 14r laptop with an i3, i got it from delloutlet with a coupon 20% code and had gotten for around $340, if i manage the power settings right i can get over 4 hours of battery on it

vbuggy

Golden Member
Nov 13, 2005
Toshiba Z835?

Cons: The screen's not the best (but is matte and very legible head-on in all lighting conditions), the MSATA SSD is on the slower side as far as SSD's in general goes, the keyboard has very little travel (it's an acquired taste - I would imagine most could adapt to it without too much trouble) and the fan does run all the time
Pros: Decent runtime in class, robust for the very low weight, as well connected as you can expect an Ultrabook to be, low cost.

Personally I can afford better in the form of the Sony Z2, but if that kind of envelope-pushing is beyond your wallet and you want an actually portable machine I think it comes down to either the Z835 or the Samsung Series 9-B right now.