Keyboard Issue: ! works but not 1

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JoongJok, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, this is a pretty recent issue that occured with my keyboard. I can't type the number 1 in the number row so I have to use my number pad as my alternative. At first, I thought my 1 key was broken until I noticed that I can still make the "!". Anyone have any idea on how to fix this?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Keyboard Issue works Forum Date
    most of the keyboard keys not working on Dell laptop & replacement has the same issue General Hardware Nov 2, 2014
    Issues with Logitech K400 keyboard/touch pad General Hardware Jul 8, 2014
    Microsoft Wireless keyboard & mouse Issue General Hardware Apr 21, 2007
    Intellitype Keyboard & MS Office Issues General Hardware Jan 5, 2006
    Is this a voltage issue? Keyboard works only in W98, not W2k! HELP! General Hardware Jan 5, 2001

  3. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,647
    Likes Received:
    112
    Does this occur in multiple programs or just 1?
     
  4. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happens in anything, notepad, browser, games.
     
  5. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,647
    Likes Received:
    112
    Do you have another keyboard to test with?
    Another OS or VM?
    Any software controlling you keyboard?
    What model is it?
     
  6. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I don't have any other keyboard. I'm running Windows 7 Home and it's a Razer Anansi, which I only keep the razer anansi program open but I haven't editted anything on it yet.
     
  7. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13,992
    Likes Received:
    703
    Just to cover the essentials:

    Have you rebooted, unplugged the keyboard, and plugged it into a different USB port? (New hardware address on a different USB port will force a driver reload... or should.)
     
  8. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, I've rebooted and plugged into a different port. Still the same problem.
     
  9. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,647
    Likes Received:
    112
    Try uninstalling the Razer software and see what happens.
     
  10. bryanl

    bryanl Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    4
    Another key connected to the 1 in the matrix may not be releasing completely.
     
  11. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    It did nothing except uninstall the capabilities of what the software does, which is custom lighting and macros. The problem still occurs.


    Could you explain the matrix for me? I'm not sure if this could be the case if my ! can still work properly.
     
  12. Ken g6

    Ken g6 Programming Moderator, Elite Member
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 1999
    Messages:
    12,895
    Likes Received:
    405
    Do all the other keys on your keyboard display the correct characters? I'm wondering if you have the wrong keyboard layout selected.
     
  13. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Every single key including ! works perfectly except 1.
     
  14. bryanl

    bryanl Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    4
    Actually it can be the case, due to the keys being wired in a rectangular matrix of rows and columns rather than with each key having its own wire to the controller chip. When a key is pressed it shorts its row to its column, but often more than one key is pressed simultaneously per row or column, in a way that prevents the controller from detecting the keys properly (the n-key rollover problem). Sometimes a key won't short or open completely, creating an in-between voltage that doesn't clearly indicate the switch being open or closed.
     
  15. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's weird about it is if I play games that require the number keys, my 1 still activates the hotkey.
     
  16. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13,992
    Likes Received:
    703
    tried a different KB?
     
  17. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,647
    Likes Received:
    112
    answer
     
  18. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sounds like a software problem then. Load a Linux distribution like Ubuntu onto a USB stick and see if the problem persists there.
     
  19. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I took another route.

    What I did was use my Razer Anansi program, which sets keys to be whatever I desire. So I set my 1 key as the number 1 from my numberpad. It works as long as I keep numlock on but only problem is that this program doesn't let me add more than one function so now I had to set another key as my exclamation point.

    Yes, the problem was still there when I used Ubunto.
     
  20. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK, if you are able to remap the key, then the key is obviously physically working fine. Since the problem persists in a completely different OS, that means that it is something within the keyboard itself.

    The Anansi is fancy enough such that it probably stores the profiles within the keyboard itself, and the utility is just used for programming. I would try resetting it completely back to defaults.
     
  21. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Resetting it back to defaults will take us back to square 1, which is the 1 key not working again.
     
  22. DSF

    DSF Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you actually tried? In a situation like this there's not much point in not covering your bases.

    I mean it's a very bizarre issue. On the one hand, your games are registering the key press correctly. On the other hand, the issue is being seen across multiple OSes.

    By the way, have you contacted Razer at all? Or tried the keyboard in a different machine just for the heck of it?
     
  23. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have tried. That's how I know the outcome of resetting to default in this situation.

    I have found that some games register it and some do not. League of Legends and The Sims 3 registers but TERA doesn't.

    I haven't contacted Razer yet. I mean, I'm asking a forum of computer specialists for help but I probably will have to if this issue can't be resolved.

    As I've said previously along with someone else quoting me, the answer is no, I don't have another keyboard to test it with.
     
  24. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,647
    Likes Received:
    112
    Yeah, I have never heard of this issue before. And it doesn't help that you have been asked the same question three times in the same thread. I think your next step will be to contact Razer. They should be able to give you the best answer, or get you a replacement keyboard if necessary.
     
  25. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    2
    I mean reset the keyboard itself to defaults, not just the software.
     
  26. JoongJok

    JoongJok Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you reset the keyboard?