• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Just installed the Twin Turbo on my 4870 1 Gb :-)

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Internets

Junior Member
Sep 11, 2008
23
0
0
Oh man those custom RAM/VRAM heat sinks are awesome. I think the price is a little hefty but overall the peace of mind is better than this lame thermal tape. I am really interested in seeing your temperatures in RivaTuner/GPU-Z.
 

error8

Diamond Member
Nov 28, 2007
3,205
0
76
Originally posted by: Internets
Oh man those custom RAM/VRAM heat sinks are awesome. I think the price is a little hefty but overall the peace of mind is better than this lame thermal tape. I am really interested in seeing your temperatures in RivaTuner/GPU-Z.
Well they look awesome, but the VRM heatsink is very low profile and has little heat exchange surface and I get the impression that it might overheat the VRMs. We'll see if that's true when the op will upload that screen shot.
 

Internets

Junior Member
Sep 11, 2008
23
0
0
Originally posted by: error8
Originally posted by: Internets
Oh man those custom RAM/VRAM heat sinks are awesome. I think the price is a little hefty but overall the peace of mind is better than this lame thermal tape. I am really interested in seeing your temperatures in RivaTuner/GPU-Z.
Well they look awesome, but the VRM heatsink is very low profile and has little heat exchange surface and I get the impression that it might overheat the VRMs. We'll see if that's true when the op will upload that screen shot.
I am waiting on those temperatures as well but these ram sinks have been well received over at overclocked.net

Here is a review from the man who designed the heat sinks.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/f...p=3251416&postcount=44

He said he has been running these on two different 4870 models and the highest recorded temperature has been 90C while the VRAM is rated to 110C.

Here is some general discussion from people who have been using these.
http://www.overclock.net/hardw...870-ram-vrm-sinks.html
 

error8

Diamond Member
Nov 28, 2007
3,205
0
76
Well if the VRM touches 90C then that heatsink sucks big time and I wouldn't use it. The card dies at 110 C and they work at 90C??? Wow, that is so cool! I just installed my accelero S1 with that big stupid aluminium heatsink for the power regulators and with ATI tool the VRM touched 95 C after just a couple of seconds. It seems that these cards are cursed to run on stock cooling.

Oh and the gpu idled at 34 C and the ram was so cool too. Too bad the VRM was in the sky. :(
 

zod96

Platinum Member
May 28, 2007
2,801
14
81
Its coming guys I'll do it today for sure when I get home. I didn't get a chance yesterday to even power on my desktop pc. But I will today before 5 pm pacific time :) GPUZ coming up....

Edit: The VRM's are fine :) those guys over at overclocks forum OC the shit out of their 4870's and recommend these when OC so they must know something we don't. But you'll when I post my gpuz screen shot...
 

Internets

Junior Member
Sep 11, 2008
23
0
0
Originally posted by: error8
Well if the VRM touches 90C then that heatsink sucks big time and I wouldn't use it. The card dies at 110 C and they work at 90C??? Wow, that is so cool! I just installed my accelero S1 with that big stupid aluminium heatsink for the power regulators and with ATI tool the VRM touched 95 C after just a couple of seconds. It seems that these cards are cursed to run on stock cooling.

Oh and the gpu idled at 34 C and the ram was so cool too. Too bad the VRM was in the sky. :(
You really are not looking between the lines here. 90C was his HIGHEST recorded temperature meaning he probably had everything at full load with poor cooling.

My VRAM under the TwinTurbo sits at 55-60C idle depending on ambient temperature. I achieve these temperatures with no heat sink on the VRAM. I am willing to bet these will bring my VRAM to 55C idle and 50C when I have A/C running.

Originally posted by: zod96
Ok I did 3 loops of the GPU test of crysis here are the results very good I think :) and its dead silent...
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/08/htn.png
Man those temperatures are looking really good. I have optimal air flow in my case so I am pretty excited to see what I can idle the VRAM at.
 

error8

Diamond Member
Nov 28, 2007
3,205
0
76
Originally posted by: zod96
Ok I did 3 loops of the GPU test of crysis here are the results very good I think :) and its dead silent...
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/08/htn.png
You already have 93 C on your VRM after you exited Crysis! ( VDDC slave #3). So you're probably getting 100C or more during full load and that is not good at all. The card can die at that temperature.
 

error8

Diamond Member
Nov 28, 2007
3,205
0
76
Originally posted by: Internets
Originally posted by: error8
Well if the VRM touches 90C then that heatsink sucks big time and I wouldn't use it. The card dies at 110 C and they work at 90C??? Wow, that is so cool! I just installed my accelero S1 with that big stupid aluminium heatsink for the power regulators and with ATI tool the VRM touched 95 C after just a couple of seconds. It seems that these cards are cursed to run on stock cooling.

Oh and the gpu idled at 34 C and the ram was so cool too. Too bad the VRM was in the sky. :(
You really are not looking between the lines here. 90C was his HIGHEST recorded temperature meaning he probably had everything at full load with poor cooling.

My VRAM under the TwinTurbo sits at 55-60C idle depending on ambient temperature. I achieve these temperatures with no heat sink on the VRAM. I am willing to bet these will bring my VRAM to 55C idle and 50C when I have A/C running.

Originally posted by: zod96
Ok I did 3 loops of the GPU test of crysis here are the results very good I think :) and its dead silent...
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/08/htn.png
Man those temperatures are looking really good. I have optimal air flow in my case so I am pretty excited to see what I can idle the VRAM at.
Internets, what are you talking about?? The VRAM is the video memory and the VRMs are the power regulators. There is no way to have good temps on the vrms under load with nothing on them. They'll just overheat.
Look at my thread here: http://forums.anandtech.com/me...=2235716&enterthread=y

I had the power regulators at 50 C in idle with a pretty beefy heatsink on them. They went as high as 95C in ATI tool in a couple of seconds. I don't even want to know how high could they've went under heavy gaming after hours and hours.
 

Internets

Junior Member
Sep 11, 2008
23
0
0
Originally posted by: error8
Originally posted by: Internets
Originally posted by: error8
Well if the VRM touches 90C then that heatsink sucks big time and I wouldn't use it. The card dies at 110 C and they work at 90C??? Wow, that is so cool! I just installed my accelero S1 with that big stupid aluminium heatsink for the power regulators and with ATI tool the VRM touched 95 C after just a couple of seconds. It seems that these cards are cursed to run on stock cooling.

Oh and the gpu idled at 34 C and the ram was so cool too. Too bad the VRM was in the sky. :(
You really are not looking between the lines here. 90C was his HIGHEST recorded temperature meaning he probably had everything at full load with poor cooling.

My VRAM under the TwinTurbo sits at 55-60C idle depending on ambient temperature. I achieve these temperatures with no heat sink on the VRAM. I am willing to bet these will bring my VRAM to 55C idle and 50C when I have A/C running.

Originally posted by: zod96
Ok I did 3 loops of the GPU test of crysis here are the results very good I think :) and its dead silent...
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/08/htn.png
Man those temperatures are looking really good. I have optimal air flow in my case so I am pretty excited to see what I can idle the VRAM at.
Internets, what are you talking about?? The VRAM is the video memory and the VRMs are the power regulators. There is no way to have good temps on the vrms under load with nothing on them. They'll just overheat.
Look at my thread here: http://forums.anandtech.com/me...=2235716&enterthread=y

I had the power regulators at 50 C in idle with a pretty beefy heatsink on them. They went as high as 95C in ATI tool in a couple of seconds. I don't even want to know how high could they've went under heavy gaming after hours and hours.
I'm not sure why his temperatures are so high here are mine...

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/09/ewg.png
 

error8

Diamond Member
Nov 28, 2007
3,205
0
76
Originally posted by: Internets
Originally posted by: error8
Originally posted by: Internets
Originally posted by: error8
Well if the VRM touches 90C then that heatsink sucks big time and I wouldn't use it. The card dies at 110 C and they work at 90C??? Wow, that is so cool! I just installed my accelero S1 with that big stupid aluminium heatsink for the power regulators and with ATI tool the VRM touched 95 C after just a couple of seconds. It seems that these cards are cursed to run on stock cooling.

Oh and the gpu idled at 34 C and the ram was so cool too. Too bad the VRM was in the sky. :(
You really are not looking between the lines here. 90C was his HIGHEST recorded temperature meaning he probably had everything at full load with poor cooling.

My VRAM under the TwinTurbo sits at 55-60C idle depending on ambient temperature. I achieve these temperatures with no heat sink on the VRAM. I am willing to bet these will bring my VRAM to 55C idle and 50C when I have A/C running.

Originally posted by: zod96
Ok I did 3 loops of the GPU test of crysis here are the results very good I think :) and its dead silent...
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/08/htn.png
Man those temperatures are looking really good. I have optimal air flow in my case so I am pretty excited to see what I can idle the VRAM at.
Internets, what are you talking about?? The VRAM is the video memory and the VRMs are the power regulators. There is no way to have good temps on the vrms under load with nothing on them. They'll just overheat.
Look at my thread here: http://forums.anandtech.com/me...=2235716&enterthread=y

I had the power regulators at 50 C in idle with a pretty beefy heatsink on them. They went as high as 95C in ATI tool in a couple of seconds. I don't even want to know how high could they've went under heavy gaming after hours and hours.
I'm not sure why his temperatures are so high here are mine...

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/09/ewg.png
And what are you getting under load?
 

Internets

Junior Member
Sep 11, 2008
23
0
0
Originally posted by: error8
Originally posted by: Internets
Originally posted by: error8
Originally posted by: Internets
Originally posted by: error8
Well if the VRM touches 90C then that heatsink sucks big time and I wouldn't use it. The card dies at 110 C and they work at 90C??? Wow, that is so cool! I just installed my accelero S1 with that big stupid aluminium heatsink for the power regulators and with ATI tool the VRM touched 95 C after just a couple of seconds. It seems that these cards are cursed to run on stock cooling.

Oh and the gpu idled at 34 C and the ram was so cool too. Too bad the VRM was in the sky. :(
You really are not looking between the lines here. 90C was his HIGHEST recorded temperature meaning he probably had everything at full load with poor cooling.

My VRAM under the TwinTurbo sits at 55-60C idle depending on ambient temperature. I achieve these temperatures with no heat sink on the VRAM. I am willing to bet these will bring my VRAM to 55C idle and 50C when I have A/C running.

Originally posted by: zod96
Ok I did 3 loops of the GPU test of crysis here are the results very good I think :) and its dead silent...
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/08/htn.png
Man those temperatures are looking really good. I have optimal air flow in my case so I am pretty excited to see what I can idle the VRAM at.
Internets, what are you talking about?? The VRAM is the video memory and the VRMs are the power regulators. There is no way to have good temps on the vrms under load with nothing on them. They'll just overheat.
Look at my thread here: http://forums.anandtech.com/me...=2235716&enterthread=y

I had the power regulators at 50 C in idle with a pretty beefy heatsink on them. They went as high as 95C in ATI tool in a couple of seconds. I don't even want to know how high could they've went under heavy gaming after hours and hours.
I'm not sure why his temperatures are so high here are mine...

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/09/ewg.png
And what are you getting under load?
I looped Crysis GPU test 5 times and took this shot during its 5th pass.

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/08/10/10/9n6.png
 

zod96

Platinum Member
May 28, 2007
2,801
14
81
It only gets that hot on crysis go figure. On COD4, Company of heroes, and BF2 and BF2142 the hottest it got was about 85 and that was after about 2 hours of gameplay on those games. It seems crysis really pushes your system to the limits....
 

imported_boe

Senior member
Dec 4, 2005
273
0
0
Originally posted by: zod96
Ok here are a few pictures of the finished card

http://img512.imageshack.us/my...?image=dscn1787mp0.jpg
http://img253.imageshack.us/my...?image=dscn1788jq8.jpg
http://img66.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dscn1789ko3.jpg

Idle about 44 and load about 60 at 50% fan speed. Dead silent...
Great pictures - by any chance can you give the width of the card including the fan at the widest point? I'd love to find out if I could fit a crossfire config in my PC.

Thanks!
 

zod96

Platinum Member
May 28, 2007
2,801
14
81
Standby :) I'm on vacation right now and away from my desk pc. I can let you know when I get home sunday :)
 

SSChevy2001

Senior member
Jul 9, 2008
774
0
0
Originally posted by: boe
Great pictures - by any chance can you give the width of the card including the fan at the widest point? I'd love to find out if I could fit a crossfire config in my PC.

Thanks!
Just looking at the picture you can see it will take up 3 slots, so it should crossfire if you have that type of room per card. Personally though the stock ref cooler is much better and doesn't drop all that heat inside your case. When it comes down to it you either water cool, or use the stock ref cooler. Either way this cooler isn't going to give you a higher overclock over the stock ref cooler.
 

zod96

Platinum Member
May 28, 2007
2,801
14
81
Its more like 2 1/2 slots. As far as temps go, my cpu temps stayed exactly the same, about 30 idle with the stock cooler and 30 idle with the AC. With the AC my idle temps were about 44 and load at 60 at 50% fan speed and dead silent. With the stock cooler it idled about 62 and you could hear the fan and loaded at about 80. So for me that's a huge benefit :) no contest really...
 

SSChevy2001

Senior member
Jul 9, 2008
774
0
0
Originally posted by: zod96
Its more like 2 1/2 slots. As far as temps go, my cpu temps stayed exactly the same, about 30 idle with the stock cooler and 30 idle with the AC. With the AC my idle temps were about 44 and load at 60 at 50% fan speed and dead silent. With the stock cooler it idled about 62 and you could hear the fan and loaded at about 80. So for me that's a huge benefit :) no contest really...
Look at your picture, it's right next to the next PCI socket.
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/76/dscn1789ko3.jpg

My temps now with my stock ref cooler
4870 OC 820/3900mhz
37-39% fan speed / 64-65c gaming - reasonable sound ( quieter than my xbox 360 )

4870 Power Saving 550/800mhz
9-11% fan speed / 46-47c desktop - silent fan speed
 

zod96

Platinum Member
May 28, 2007
2,801
14
81
In the slot next to the GPU the white one, I can put my XFI sound card in their, and that is the 3rd slot from the 1st pci express slot. And my stock cooler temps are alot worse then yours, so don't know what's going on their. I live in northern CA where its mostly 70-80 year round. I can't get anywhere near your idle and load temps with the stock cooler even at 35% fan speed with the stock cooler.
 

SSChevy2001

Senior member
Jul 9, 2008
774
0
0
I live in NJ so the temps aren't bad here. My idle temps are because I underclock the GPU much better than ATi poweplay does. My normal idle would use 25.7a vddc current, and with my new idle is 4.1a vddc. I'm guessing it's about a 40w drop in idle power, which saves me power and keeps the card cooler at a lower fan speed. I also edited the bios for auto fan control.

With my idle settings I'll bet your card would of be in the low 30s with the twin turbo.
 

error8

Diamond Member
Nov 28, 2007
3,205
0
76
Originally posted by: zod96
In the slot next to the GPU the white one, I can put my XFI sound card in their, and that is the 3rd slot from the 1st pci express slot. And my stock cooler temps are alot worse then yours, so don't know what's going on their. I live in northern CA where its mostly 70-80 year round. I can't get anywhere near your idle and load temps with the stock cooler even at 35% fan speed with the stock cooler.
What is your VRM temperature? I guess they get as hot as hell with that red little tinny heatsink.
If you're going to try the latest Furmark your card will die, because of those overheating VRMs.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS