I've gone to the "dark" side of soundcards....

AMD64Blondie

Golden Member
Apr 20, 2013
Just bought a PCI-E Creative Sound Blaster Zx off of Amazon.

Price was only $95.

I haven't had a Creative soundcard since my old Audigy SE many years ago.

Have the drivers improved over the years?

UsandThem

Elite Member
May 4, 2000
While not the same card, I've been using a Creative AE-5 with Windows 10 for a few years, and I've never had an issue with the various Windows updates.

AMD64Blondie

Golden Member
Apr 20, 2013
Got my new Sound Blaster Zx installed last night...and things sound so much better than my Realtek integrated audio.

(I know,it might seem obvious about the better sound,but I hadn't had a real sound card for a long time.)

Checking back thru my Newegg order history, I bought my Audigy ES in Nov.2004..so it's been close to 15 years since I had a Creative sound card.

I've got my Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro headphones hooked up to the new Sound Blaster Zx.

Last edited:

UsandThem

Elite Member
May 4, 2000
I've really enjoyed my Creative card as well compared to what was on my previous Gigabyte board (and my current Asrock Z270 Taichi). The audio wasn't bad by any means, but I listen to a lot of music with my headphones and PC speakers, so I noticed the difference.

I currently have an Asus ROG Strix X470-F motherboard on the way, which is supposed to have really great onboard audio, so I'll have to see how it compares.

rstrohkirch

Platinum Member
May 31, 2005
I have a Z installed in the computer that controls my audio setup. I needed something with digital in and out. Can't say I've had any issues with it.

UsandThem

Elite Member
May 4, 2000