Is there a different way.......

Jan 26, 2005
I just installed Firefox on my Linux box. To start it, I have to enter a few console commands. Is there a way I can make an executable file so I don't have to type them out all the time? Here is what I use to start Firefox:

[root@localhost] cd /root/firefox-installer
[root@ localhost firefox] ./firefox

Thanks for any help

stars

Golden Member
Feb 27, 2002
You can edit the .bashrc and add something like

alias fire='/path/to/firefox'

Then in a terminal you simply type fire to run firefox. Also you probably have other options depending on the window manager and/or desktop enviroment that you use.

Jan 26, 2005
I am running Red Hat 9 and I admit I am a total Linix noob. Could you explain to me exactly how one would do this? Thank you very much.

stars

Golden Member
Feb 27, 2002
Sure, by using a text editor such as pico, nano, vim or whatever comes with red hat open the .bashrc file which is located in your home directory. Add a line to the file similar to:

alias fire='/path/to/firefox'

The word "fire" can be replaced with whatever you would like to use to run firefox. The /path/to/firefox section is the path to the actual location of firefox. After adding this line and saving the file you can issue a second command that will allow the changes to take effect. This command would be issued from your home directory:

source ~/.bashrc

Also note the reference to "home directory" means the actual user directory such as /home/username

Hope this helps.

bersl2

Golden Member
Aug 2, 2004
Usually, prepending or appending to $PATH is preferable to making an alias. So, in ~/.bashrc, add the following line (assuming /path/to is the path to the firefox executable*):

PATH="/path/to:$PATH"

* To be technically correct, firefox is merely an executable script; ${FF_ROOT}/lib/firefox-bin is the true executable, but you're supposed to call it through the previously mentioned shell script.

AnonymouseUser

Diamond Member
May 14, 2003