Is studying 2 martial arts at once good for you?

iLoveDivX

Banned
Apr 2, 2001
I just started learning Karate for about 6 months. Everything is going fine but now another instructor from a different place wants me to learn Jujitsu with him. My Karate teacher thinks it's not good for a beginner in martial arts to learn two things at once. He wants me to get good in Karate first, then move on to whatever. The Jujitsu guy on the other hand says these two martial arts are completely different and won't clash in the learning process. Anyone have any opinion on this?

AaronP

Diamond Member
Feb 27, 2000
you wanna be good at one kind of skill, or sucky at both. I would do one or the other. that doesn't mean you cant quit karate and go to jujitsu though, those 6 months won't be wasted.

AaronP

Diamond Member
Feb 27, 2000
btw, I know NOTHING about martial arts, except that Chuck Norris in his prime could beat the hell out of Bruce Lee in his prime. In fact, I believe Norris beat lee at some world martial arts contests or something.

May 16, 2000
On the Norris/Lee issue: Chuck Norris is one of the greatest fighters of all time, there is no doubt. He is the only person in the western hemisphere to hold an 8th degree black belt in tae kwon do, awarded in Korea to him. He was 6 time world middlewieght champion, undefeated. He never 'fought' bruce lee. He trained with him, and was in Return of the Dragon with him at Bruces request. When asked what bruce was like he said

'Very, very, VERY fast. He was also as strong as I was, even though he was 25 lbs lighter. He learned everything, used what he thought best, and made it his own. When I first met him Bruce never kicked above the waist, he didn't see the point in it. After working out with him and discussing it with him he began to include high kicks, and within a few months he was as proficient in high kicks as anybody in the world. He was really one of a kind.'