Internet splitting help !! (urgent)

faith11

May 7, 2013
Hello, i am new here so please let me know if this post is in wrong place.

I am owner of a small gaming cafe (LAN GAMES). I have little knowledge about networking. I have 15 gaming pc and 1 server pc with Cyber cafe pro.

i have 1MB dedicated internet connection. i want to Split the connection in 5 PC and i want to control the speed from my server pc. is it possible ?

if yes. How ? Please be kind and take some time to explain.

Thanks in advance

stlcardinals

Sep 15, 2005
QoS or Quality of Service is the process used to control and shape network traffic. After looking through CyberCafePro's manual, It appears the closest thing it has is "Using Bandwidth Monitoring" where you can say to start charging per GB if they go over a certain GB threshold.

kevnich2

Platinum Member
Apr 10, 2004
A cyber cafe with 15 computers and a 1mb internet connection??? You definitely need to consider upgrading your internet speed. I'm surprised people aren't yelling and screaming about that.

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
Yes, if that connection is only 1 megabit, then you will need to increase that connection speed to accommodate that many PCs. If it's 1 megaBYTE, meaning 8 megabits, then you're probably OK.

You need some sort of a device to share the internet connection, which is to say, function as a NAT router. You can download Linux server OSes for free that will do this, or you can buy a SOHO router box, like the Asus RT-N66U.

faith11

May 7, 2013
Sorry for late replay. at our country we need to pay 120 USD per 1 MB dedicated connection. (1000 USD for 10 MB connection)

i want to split the connection into 5 PC. I have a dedicated IP with the connection. but as i am using 1.1.1.1 for my server address and 1.1.1.x for other gaming pcs. i need a way to keep that address and provide internet to 5 of my PC.