Internal HDD Cage and SATA

bad_monkey

Aug 31, 2010
Sorry, that is kind of a crummy title and not very descriptive. I am looking to add an internal drive cage to RAID ~4 1TB WD Caviar Blacks. The cage would be similar to this Addonics.
http://www.addonics.com/products/raid_system/ae4rcs35nsa.asp

I guess my first question is if 4 of these could saturate a SATA 3.0 connection in RAID 1+0. I would think that it would be just barely if it were yes, but I'm no expert which is why I am asking.

My second question then is if HDD cages like the one above are bandwidth limited by the HDD's themselves, the connected interface (SATA 3.0 vs 6.0) or do the cages themselves support a specific interface (SATA 3.0 vs 6.0). So if I have the cage attached to a SATA 6 controller and I am using SATA 6 Caviar Blacks will the cage need to specify SATA 6 or will it be limited to SATA 3.0 speeds?

Hopefully, that is clear. If there are any clarifications needed just ask. Thanks in advance for the replies!!

Last edited:

FishAk

Jun 13, 2010
In case you don't already know of the trouble with putting WD disks in an array, Goggle TLER

If the disks are newer than last quarter '09, you won't be able to turn TLER on.

Last edited:

alaricljs

Golden Member
May 11, 2005
Another thing to note is that those internal cages don't do port multiplication. I can't think of any cages that DO have port multipliers. Then last but not least, if you get something with port multipliers then you have to find a compatible controller. It's safest to do that stuff inside the same manuf./product family.

bad_monkey

Aug 31, 2010
In case you don't already know of the trouble with putting WD disks in an array, Goggle TLER If the disks are newer than last quarter '09, you won't be able to turn TLER on.