Install new motherboard keep OS and stuff.

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by tweakboy, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    I remember way back with Windows 2000 if you bought a new motherboard and just booted up, it would give a blue screen.

    Now I don't know if Win 8 will do the same thing, or is it smart enough to detect new hardware and install drivers ?

    How about a Repair Install would that work ?


    There is now ay I can go clean when getting new motherboard, I have too much DAW stuff,,,,, Ive done formats in the past enough,, I dont wanna touch this,, so if reapair install would fix it that would be awesome. However perhaps with Windows 8 , u just pop in the motherboard and it will boot up and find new hardware and install it and your ready to go. Thank you much Anand gurus.

    :colbert:
     
  2. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sound like a clown the way you type.

    But yeah the easiest way would be swap motherboards and just boot it up.

    Then run a driver update wizard to make sure you have everything you should as latest.


    Otherwise, You can clone your OS drive or make a custom windows install/restore DVD

    If you need more help let me know there was a good thread on this in the HTPC forum at AVS.
     
  3. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    OMG my bad, I had some Wine,,, and I double posted my question. SOO SORRY erase that thread or something.
     
  4. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thanks, well I have a Windows Image Backup on external. Also, if I just put in the motherboard, ur saying Win8 should boot up, maybe take longer and put in the proper devices ?
     
  5. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    C'mon, their simply must be more than just wine in play here!
     
  6. SolMiester

    SolMiester Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Usually, you have to generalise the devices in the device manger which make up the components of the computer, however, if using a Intel chipset, its quite often okay to just boot into safe mode and let the harwdare aware o/s of windows 7 or 8 install the correct drivers....Only if this doesnt work would I do a repair install