If I lose my cell phone will I be able to keep the same number?

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by Arcadio, Aug 6, 2009.

1. Arcadio

Arcadio Diamond Member

Does lost/stolen phone mean my number is gone forever? I'm a newbie when it comes to cellphones...

2. corkyg

corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

No. Your host will cancel the existing/lost/stolen phone and transfer your number to a replacement phone. Been there - done that! :)

3. Arcadio

Arcadio Diamond Member

Thanks... I cannot afford to lose my number. Ever.

4. Rottie

Rottie Diamond Member

No you will not lose your number with new sim card but you have to have same kind of phone for the sim card to work and also the address book or contact book will transfer to new phone

5. akugami

akugami Diamond Member

That's incorrect, unless by "same kind of phone" you mean it has to support the same technology. Basically GSM which is used by AT&T & T-Mobile as well as Europe and Asia. Sim cards will work regardless of phone model so long as it supports the proper tech.

So for the OP, let's pretend I am on AT&T. I can lose my phone & sim card, get a replacement sim from AT&T but because I did not have insurance to replace my old phone I had to buy a new phone and decided to get a different phone. Once AT&T activates the sim with my account information, I'm good to go with the same number even on the new and different phone. The phone does not matter. It's the sim card and your account that matters.

Phone carriers who use CDMA (Verizon, Sprint) do not use sim cards so you'd have to get your whole phone replaced but you'll still retain your phone number because it's tied to your account. Again, there is nothing requiring you to get the same phone model as your old one in order to retain your old phone number.