ibm t60 cpu upgrade

Discussion in 'SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs' started by crasheren, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. crasheren

    crasheren Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello to all and a merry christmas

    i was wondering if my ibm t60 which has a t2400 core duo processor, can be replaced with a core 2 duo processor ? i havent been able to find anything about it so im hoping some of you guys knows it

    both cpu's has the same socket so if it isnt possible it should be the motherboard not supporting c2d
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - upgrade Forum Date
    Need advice asap on upgrading 2 laptops SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs Oct 13, 2017
    Dell XPS 13 9343 battery upgrade to new 60Whr? SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs Aug 16, 2017
    Upgrading my PC only for gaming SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs Jun 23, 2017
    Upgrade from Lenovo B50 AMD A6 SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs May 8, 2017
    Upgrade from 3110M to 3630QM SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs May 1, 2017

  3. Throckmorton

    Throckmorton Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it's worth it
     
  4. crasheren

    crasheren Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    as much as i appreciate your personal aspect in regards to my question, it doenst answer my question
     
  5. TC91

    TC91 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    yah, the cpu should be upgradable to a core 2 duo, but only the ones with the 533-667mhz fsb, not the new 800mhz fsb santa rosa chips. core 2 was pretty much a drop in upgrade for core duo, as they used the same socket like you stated, but the motherboards for the core duo's only support fsb speeds up to 667mhz. so basically you can only upgrade to the t5xxx series (there are a couple t5x70 that are 800mhz fsb i believe), or t7200, t7400, t7600, or the t7600G. the t7200 and higher are pretty expensive however. they are about 300cad for the t7200, 400-500cad for the t7400, and 600+cad for the t7600. the t7600G is a multiplier unlocked version of the t7600, but i dont think you would need it, not sure if your bios would support the mulitplier overclocking anyways. the core 2 duo's pretty much add 64bit support and a little more performance clock for clock compared with the core duo.
     
  6. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    26,620
    Likes Received:
    90
    My T60 has a Core2Duo in it - that's the way I ordered it. I don't see Lenovo using a separate or different mobo in one line, so my guess is yes.
     
  7. Throckmorton

    Throckmorton Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just found out yesterday that Core 2 is 64 bit but Core isn't. So it would be worth it if you want 64 bit
     
  8. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    26,620
    Likes Received:
    90
    That statement can be misinterpreted. What it means is that Core2Duo can handle 64 bit, but it is not mandatory. It handles 32 bit beautifully as well.

    The value sort depends on whether or not you can sell the CoreDuo, and what the net delta would be weighed against real and potential gains in performance.

    But all bloviating aside, the basic answer to the OP's question is "Yes."

     
  9. DarkThinker

    DarkThinker Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded my ThinkPad T60 (1953-D7U) from a Core Duo to a Core 2 Duo. It was a simple upgrade (granted you are familiar with taking all of your laptop apart). I was switching from Fedora 7 32-bit to Fedora 8 64-bit, plus I wanted the doubled cache (4MB) and the extras that come with it. I went from a T2300 to a T7200 667MHZ. I got it for $80 cheaper on Ebay (lucky snipe) than what NewEgg.com had it for!
    I definitely think it was a worthwhile because I did notice a decent performance boost on my media encoding, Games, file extraction and compression...etc

    HOWEVER, things to keep in mind:

    1- This might probably void your warranty even if your laptop doesn't get damaged in the process or due to the upgrade.
    Let's just say after you do the upgrade, maybe you might want to keep the older CPU hanging around...to ward off evil spirits ;)

    2- You need to upgrade your T60 to the latest BIOS version available before you upgrade...why? Well it's because Core 2 Duo support comes with later BIOS versions (I think that's 2.01 and above ?)