i5 3570k - Always run 4 Cores

hondaf17

Sep 25, 2005
A month ago you all helped me decide to upgrade to an i5 3570k. Purchased with the AsRock Z77 Pro 4 Motherboard combo from Microcenter. Very happy with the upgrade.

I have no experience OCing Intel (always AMD previously).

On my Mobo I selected "auto overclock to 4.4 Ghz" and was done. This fluctuates the speed, core count and voltage as necessary based on load. I am fine if speed and voltage fluctuate (my temps stay nice and cool) but I always want it to be at 4 cores. I have Intel Extreme Tuning up on a separate monitor, and sometimes Planetside 2 will tell me I'm CPU constrained, and I'll look and see only 2 cores running at 4.4Ghz. Obviously 4 cores would help.

The OCing features in my BIOS are confusing. I've read a ton of forums on Toms Hardware and Overclockers and haven't found an answer. I'm sure it's something simple and I know a lot of people here have this chip so I'm looking forward to your feedback.

TYIA,

ShintaiDK

Lifer
Apr 22, 2012
I havent tried Planetside 2 myself. But is there actually a load on the other cores? Else they will idle as unused. And upping their speed wont do anything.

ChippyUK

Jan 13, 2010
I have to agree, have you tried another game like Battlefield 3 which is very good for maximizing the use of your cores?

Btw, it looks like there are tons of posts on their forums about the game engine not making full use of their processor so this may remain unresolvable unless they improve it with a patch.

inf64

Diamond Member
Mar 11, 2011
What's the status of your core parking? Can you check and see if it is enabled or disabled?

Puppies04

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2011
If a game is coded to use a maximum of 2 cores then it doesn't matter how many cores you throw at the problem. Ok a quad will enable background tasks such as windows or program updates to run without impacting your game very much but the only other option would be to increase the clockspeed of your CPU.

BrightCandle