I have a shot at an NT Administration position, I have a question...

SlickWilly

Banned
Oct 30, 1999
I have a very likely shot at Administering an NT network for a local office of a global company. Microsoft told this company that they need access to a "library" which I'm guessing would be a Technet subscription. While I'm not sure, I'd like to know what I might need to be prepared for this, other than the certifications. Any ideas?

BaDaBooM

Golden Member
May 3, 2000
I am an NT administrator consultant. It depends on what you already know. What is your experience level?

damien6

Golden Member
Oct 11, 1999
A lot also depends on the company, size, type of equipment, location, type of support, etc.... Most likely you'll find out in the first three to four months or so ;)

SlickWilly

Banned
Oct 30, 1999
As far as level, I'm not sure what you would rate it. I don't have any of my certifications yet, and I know there is much for me to learn. I am, however, very proficient in computers, Windows 9x, and NT. And what I don't know, I usually learn extremely fast. I'm sure I could slide into this position fairly easily, lock down the network, and get sh!t running smooth within a month. I'm just a little worried. I've always underestimated my own ability, which is why I'm not in an admin position right now. The network is fairly small, about 50 computers, so it would be a good start.

BaDaBooM

Golden Member
May 3, 2000
Yea, good starter... but be careful. I'm still not sure how much experience you have (tech support or what kind, # of years?). NT Administration is not just tech support with using User Manager. If it is a straight NT Domain with standard file servers, etc. you may be ok. However if there is anything funky like Alpha hosts, multiple network protocols, routers, T1s, WANs, VPNs, etc. You may want to think about it. Would suck to go into something like that un-prepared and get in over your head.

SlickWilly

Banned
Oct 30, 1999