I dislike father's/mother's day...

Jeff7181

Lifer
Aug 21, 2002
They're crappy Hallmark holidays that inject stress into my life. "I've got to do/get something meaningful to make them feel appreciated." It's difficult enough finding something to do/get for my 60+ year old parents for their birthdays and Christmas.

Does that make me a bad person/son?

Amused

Elite Member
Apr 14, 2001
Yes. The time to hate those holidays is when they're dead and gone and you remember all the times you were a selfish little twit like now.

Jeff7181

Lifer
Aug 21, 2002
Yes. The time to hate those holidays is when they're dead and gone and you remember all the times you were a selfish little twit like now.

Haha... I expected this. Seriously though... it's not that I don't appreciate them. I'm almost 30 years old so I've been doing this for about 20 years now. It just gets a little old going through the routine of buying a gift or making something or whatever. It's even more complicated by the fact that even though they're still married and living together they're not into each other anymore so one gets jealous if they think the other had a better holiday. I know it sounds incredibly arrogant, but if they got along it would be great because I could take them out for dinner or have them over for dinner and "grace them with my presence" rather than buying them something that they don't need.

shortylickens

No Lifer
Jul 15, 2003
I got my mom a portable Blu-ray player. Will get her a new computer this year for her birthday.
Last year a 22" widescreen for mothers day and blackberry 8830 for BD.

mrjminer

Platinum Member
Dec 2, 2005
The only days someone gets a gift from me: birthday, Christmas.