HVACs in the House? Complex questions on home air related to spray foam insulation

Nov 8, 2012
Breakdown:
  • 3 ACs in our Home – 1x 4t for upstairs. 1x 3.5t for downstairs. 1x 2t for master bedroom suite
    • Master bedroom is entirely dead, the evap. Coils are leaking so much that if we refill the freon it leaks straight back out
    • Upstairs isn’t coiling efficiently at all – and it never really has. Bedrooms on the opposite side of the house upstairs barely gets any cool air if any from their output vents. If we turn the thermostat to 75, it would run 20 hours+ in the day.
    • Downstairs unit seems to work “ok”
  • Going into this, I felt like I wanted to go with Trane – because over the years of meeting many different HVACs to fix stuff – I would always ask for their favorite brand and this is generally what they would tell me. I’ve also heard some consistent issues with the likes of Lunnex – but I’m no expert here.
  • My main thing for my replacement ACs is I just want the Toyota. ACs are generally rated for something to last 10-15 years, and I want something that lasts 20+ years when properly maintained.
  • Mold Growth – Rampant problem In our area and lawsuits are going on. We’ve seen it in the attic on the duct-work and even seen it in the duct work at the output vents after taking off the output vents. Some people seem to attribute this to 2 things
    • New rule in home building that states part of the AC input air has to come from the outside. Our outside is HEAVY humidity air. Were right next to the gulf.
    • Wind from the bay also comes in through our attic via holes under the roof.
  • Many In the neighborhood (including the home builder that is fixing these issues) think that the answer to this is seal off the attic entirely – and then condition the attic space with the rest of the home.
So going into this we had these for our plans and for getting quotes
  1. Replace all the ACs + Ductwork to new models