How to deal with vindictive former roommate?

Sep 7, 2009
Cliffs at bottom.

My house has a basement room (totally separate living/kitchen i.e. in-law suite) which I've allowed a friend of my SO to stay for the past 6 months or so (yes she paid rent, yes I report it, although no lease).

I've now realized this girl may have some serious mental issues.. I have seen her be extremely vindictive for NO reason to a few of her classmates, and she's mentioned 'issues' with being vindictive and manic depressive (or bi polar?)

Basically, she will flip out for absolutely no reason. I'm a young business professional and am never loud, rarely company over, etc. About two weeks ago I had an old friend from high school over to play video games.. The volume was up loud (not extremely, I'd say the max level you'd play in an apartment setting.. i.e. she could hear 'something' was going on but not distinct voices or whatnot) at 2pm on a Saturday.

She banged on the door extremely loudly.. and continued banging even after I turned it down and walked down to answer. She more or less flipped out.. I told her that I am absolutely not going to discuss this with company over but that I am disappointed that she decided to bring it up in this way, and that we would talk about it later. She went sorta crazy.. and I reiterated that I have company over and am not going to get into a screaming match with her. (btw, later on she txt'd my SO that she was "thinking of mean things to do to me")