how to combine 12v rails

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by UaVaj, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. UaVaj

    UaVaj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    have a psu with two 18A 12v rails.

    how do one go about testing/figuring out which lead connects to which rail.

    looking to combine the two 18A rail for a single 34A rail.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - combine rails Forum Date
    Combining power supply wiring Power Supplies Jun 24, 2015
    Split rails vs Combined (pooled)? Power Supplies Aug 11, 2010
    Combining Power Protection Power Supplies Feb 23, 2010
    Combining 12v rails Power Supplies Sep 9, 2009
    Possible to combine the +12 rails on an Enermax Liberty 500w ? Power Supplies Oct 6, 2007

  3. UaVaj

    UaVaj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    never mind.

    according to this test methodology. (which seems logical)
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=147571

    looks like it is all marketing gimmicks.
    although label says dual rails, testing verifys it is a single rail.
    every yellow (12v) have positive continuity (all ~3ohm).
    every black (ground) have verified continuity (all ~3ohm).

    if you insist on knowing the manufactuer. pm me.
    anway this is a very very very well known manufactuer psu. :eek:
     
  4. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why can't you share your PSU make and model publicly?
     
  5. Maximilian

    Maximilian Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    5
    So... umm.. are you that ashamed of the PSU you have bought you wont share its make/model because its that bad? Did you build it yourself or something? o_O
     
  6. UaVaj

    UaVaj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is a good psu. just that the labeling is misleading.

    there reallie no need to post the make and model.
    at this point in time - it won't benefit anyone.

    single rail is the standard now-a-day anyway.
    no need to tarnish a reputable brand.
     
  7. Maximilian

    Maximilian Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    5
    Weird o_O

    Single/multi rail is not any kind of "standard", theres more important factors in picking a PSU.
     
  8. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    8
    Turns out it's an Asus A-55GA, manufactured by AcBel. Xbitlabs claims the real power output is about 400 watts. The total +12V rating is 360W, but if Xbitlabs is correct it is not capable of maintaining that continuously.
     
    #7 lehtv, Jan 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  9. Maximilian

    Maximilian Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    5
    Aha, it all makes sense now! He didnt want to taint the household name of AcBel or shed a bad light on Asus who are of course primarily known for their extensive line of world class PSU's.

    We can only hope that this thread dosent bring down the opinion of the 3 or so people who have heard of AcBel or knew that Asus even made PSU's otherwise the bottom lines of both companies could be drastically affected!

    /sarcasm

    Well mystery solved, gratz lehtv :thumbsup:
     
  10. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39,480
    Likes Received:
    913
    I actually prefer single rail, I much rather have something like 50 amps at 12 volts on a single rail than multiple smaller rails. Then again I sometimes use computer power supplies for things other than computers. :p

    Typically all similar colored cables are the same voltage so it would be as simple as just combining them.
     
  11. Gillbot

    Gillbot Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    28,785
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, I use them to charge or jump start my car. :eek:
     
  12. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39,480
    Likes Received:
    913
    Haha I have thought of using one to jump start a car but did not figure there would be enough current. Good to know! lol
     
  13. Gillbot

    Gillbot Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    28,785
    Likes Received:
    1
  14. UaVaj

    UaVaj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    you obviously got too much time. :rolleyes:
     
  15. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes I do :D