how thorough do restaurants wash fruits and veggies

MagnusTheBrewer

IN MEMORIAM
Jun 19, 2004
Fruits and vegetables are rinsed under water during prep in all reputable restaurants. Is there some experience or concern you're referring to?

Da Chef has spoken; So, let it be written. So, let it be done. :)

MagnusTheBrewer

IN MEMORIAM
Jun 19, 2004
Originally posted by: archiloco
i hope they rinse properly, haha don't know what properly is though....anybody?

Rinsing properly is removing any visible dirt or contaminant.

KaOTiK

Lifer
Feb 5, 2001
When I was a cook years ago one of the waiters we worked with use to work for Olive Garden. When the crisping sink (sink they used to put the lettuce to soak in water and clean) got clogged up they would use the plunger from the restroom to do it.
But yeah, most will rinse off everything. If there is any noticeable dirt it will be removed otherwise that is it.

Demon-Xanth

Lifer
Feb 15, 2000
Throw them in a sink, fill it with cold water, pull them out as you cut them, drain the sink when done.

<-- made a lot of salad

Saint Nick

Lifer
Jan 21, 2005
Originally posted by: Demon-Xanth
Throw them in a sink, fill it with cold water, pull them out as you cut them, drain the sink when done.

<-- tossed a lot of salad

fixed

Oyeve

Lifer
Oct 18, 1999
I worked in a major NY deli about 25 years ago. Was a well respected deli. Lets just say I never ate from there. :)

Tsaico

Platinum Member
Oct 21, 2000
The hotel that I was at had four full restaurants. They didn't scrub them with anything, but did give a good hand washing. To tell you the truth, chances are the average restaurant is much cleaner than your average house kitchen.