How much, and how long to bleed brakes?

thatsright

Diamond Member
May 1, 2001
Just got brakes on my car (2001 Nissan Maxima) and need to bleed out the brakes. I have never done this before and don't know anyone who knows how to do it so I will need to take it to a shop.

Anyone have an idea of how long it would take for all 4 wheels? If a shop had to do it how much do you think it would be. I don't think its very complicated..??

Thanks!

AnonymouseUser

Diamond Member
May 14, 2003
EDIT >> Time Warp - OP below
edit: and moved to the proper forum - Anandtech Moderator DrPizza

Originally posted by: thatsright
Just got brakes on my car (2001 Nissan Maxima) and need to bleed out the brakes. I have never done this before and don't know anyone who knows how to do it so I will need to take it to a shop.

Anyone have an idea of how long it would take for all 4 wheels? If a shop had to do it how much do you think it would be. I don't think its very complicated..??

Thanks!

If all you did was change the pads then you don't need to bleed the brake lines. Just make sure you have enough fluid in the brake fluid reservoir.

thatsright

Diamond Member
May 1, 2001
Originally posted by: AnonymouseUser

Thanks!

If all you did was change the pads then you don't need to bleed the brake lines. Just make sure you have enough fluid in the brake fluid reservoir.

Sorry I didn't mention I changed the calipers as they were leaking brake fluid. The reservoir is full, but I still have VERY spongy brakes.

thatsright

Diamond Member
May 1, 2001
Originally posted by: JLee

Thanks man, that was pretty informative. But the problem is I don't have jacks, so I feel like I have to take it to a shop??

How did you change calipers without a jack? :confused:

Well I got it done locally at a shop, but for whatever reason they didn't bleed them out.; Didn't realize this until after they were closed and now I have no confidence in them. So if I can't get them done there, well then....

beat mania