How many of you can sing? I mean really SING?

SlickWilly

Banned
Oct 30, 1999
Just wondering. I think I can sing, but I'm too damn shy to do it around most people in case I screw up :) I can sing "The Star Spangled Banner" like no other, and I like to show it off after a few beers. All my friends say stuff like, "Man, you should have been at the Indy 500" or stuff like that. I also like to sing Creed's songs. I really wish I had a voice like Richard Marx though. I'd spend all my time writing lyrics. I also have this habit of singing while I drive...constantly...since it's when nobody else is around :) Though I bet those people in the car next to me think I'm a fool :)

chipbgt

Banned
Nov 30, 1999
I really respect peoples musical talents because when it comes to singing I am a complete zero. I am not tone deaf but I just have very weak vocal cords it seems :)

Harvey

Administrator<br>Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
tmj -- I like to think I can sing. When I was a professional musician, I sang lead and background harmonies. I guess I wasn't too far off, because we got paid for our gigs. Two weeks after the release of the first Crosby, Stills &amp; Nash album, my band was singing the Suite Judy Blue Eyes live on stage. :)

I still jam with friends, and on a good day, we can knock down harmonies from Eagles to Steely Dan and get away with it for anyone who happens to be an audience. What a rush! :D

If you think you can sing, one secret is confidence. If you don't believe you can do it, you never will convince anyone else you can.

Here's a singer's exercise:

1. Stand up straight, and put the palm of one hand flat against your abdomen.

2. Inhale deeply, and let your hand feel the movement of your gut.

Most people's gut goes in, and thier chest and shoulders expand. That is incorrect breathing for singing.