How many builds have you reused your case?

Discussion in 'Cases & Cooling' started by r3dsh1ft, Aug 10, 2012.

?

How many builds have you used the same case for?

  1. Never.

  2. 1-2 builds

  3. 3-4 builds

  4. I have the same beige case from the 90s

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. MichaelD

    MichaelD Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    31,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    I reused the same beige Chieftec/Antec 1200 cases (I think that's the model number) full tower with the four 80mm fans that sit in those ugly, plastic purple carriers for about 10 years/5 builds. Then I bought a $300 Lian Li, which rattled like crap and dented if I looked at it the wrong way, so i sold it. Then I bought an Antec P180 (awesome case) and had about 4 builds in it. Then I decided to go whole hog.

    I bought a 30U, 30" deep rack and two 4U rackmount cases/rails. I replaced the fans in both cases with desktop-grade fans vs. the jet engines they came with. My two systems are quieter than most PCs. The noisiest thing is the 5 traditional hard drives in my NAS.

    One case holds my NAS which has only changed once in 6 years. The other holds my main PC and I've had about 5 builds in there. It's bigger inside than a full tower, I can just slide it out and remove/replace whatever I need to and slide it back in. No more cut hands, no more broken fingers from trying to snake wires every which way. The rack is right next to my desk.

    Sure, the rack takes up a lot of room but I have my printer on top, a big UPS that sits on the bottom, out of sight, and an 8-port Gigabit switch mounted on the back with a single connection to my router. I do miss the excitement of buying a new case but the ease of maintenance and assembly makes up for it. :)

    This thread is timely as I just emptied out a storage unit I had and found a 5U pedestal case (YeonYoung W201 I think) that is rack mountable. It has a nice, quiet 120mm intake and exhaust fans. :D Cha-ching! I'm transferring my main PC into that this weekend. Should be even quieter than the two 80mm fans in my main PC/rack case I'm currently using and as a bonus, the Hyper 212 cooler I've not been able to fit in the 4U will fit in this baby! I'm stoked.

    This is the 5U case

    [​IMG]

    And for the heck of it, the product page. http://www.yycase.com/yy-w2xx.htm I got the version with the feet but they screw right off as do the top/bottom panels which exposes the mounting holes for the rails.

    The case came with an 80mm fan mounted in front of the drive cage (pictured below) but that was an easy mod to a quiet, 120mm fan.

    [​IMG]

    ps
    All my rackmount cases have removable front filters and I tape off any side/top ventilation holes that all rackmount cases have in order to ensure proper front to back airflow with the lower-speed fans I use. It was a lot of research and work, but worth it to me.
     
    #51 MichaelD, Sep 7, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  2. MichaelD

    MichaelD Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    31,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice! Brings back memories. I never got into the whole case window/LED thing but I modded every one of my cases. Dremeled out the restrictive fan grills and used wire ones, made holes for cable management, that sort of thing. Cool stuff, BonzaiDuck. :)

     
  3. Vinwiesel

    Vinwiesel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never. The old pc gets relegated to backup/HTPC duty, and the new system gets a new case.
     
  4. Primergy

    Primergy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not my main machine but I was lucky years ago to find the cool looking case of an Intergraph TDZ2000 workstation for a few bucks and have used it since (~10yrs).
    I am now on the 4th motherboard/build.
     
  5. Icebones

    Icebones Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll add my name to the Chieftec Dragon users :)

    I love the quick release side panel with the large window
    and that the case is aluminium :thumbsup:

    Mine has been through at least 5 builds that i can recall
    K6/2-533Mhz
    PIII 1.0Ghz
    XP2600+
    P4 2.8Ghz
    and now my current build
    Athlon II x3 455 Rana(unlocked to Phenom IIx4 B55) w/ Hyper 212+ cooler
    ASRock M3A770DE motherboard
    Powercolor AX6770 - Radeon HD6770 w/ 1GB GDDR5
    Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB DDR3 (2x2Gb)
    Thermaltake TR2-430

    If you want you can check out a video of it here
     
    #55 Icebones, Sep 11, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
  6. Phantomaniac

    Phantomaniac Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never used the same case from primary to primary build. I wait 5 years between primary builds and by that time my idea about what I want in a case usually changes. Back in high school I had some shitty Logisys with a side window and cold cathodes. Then for my next build in late college I decided I didn't care about windows anymore and went with a hefty Cooler Master that could handle crossfire/SLI. Now 3.5 years later I never bothered with a crossfire/SLI setup and would rather have something more portable.
     
  7. fatpat268

    fatpat268 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, I'll reuse my case often, but I'm kind of weird though... when I change to a new case, every time I've done it in between builds as an "upgrade." Meaning I take everything out of a functioning case and transplant it, I never start with a new case on a new build.

    Over the years, I've only had 4 cases or so. I started with an oem gateway tower, then a Coolermaster Centurion, Antec P182, and now an NZXT H2. Out of those, I absolutely hated the P182. It had some terrible design issues that was just a pure headache. I hated how it segregated the PSU from the rest of the case, and then forced the hdd cage down in the same area making it cramped as hell.

    But yea, I've moved on to the NZXT H2. It has a lot of features that are nice, and I've switched all my hard drives to hotswap bays, so now I never have to open my case again if I'm upgrading hard drives. This is something I'm surprised more people don't do. The hotswap bays usually cost $15-$20 and take up one of those 5.25" bays that are probably unused. Makes everything a lot easier.
     
  8. WT

    WT Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    4,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup: That case is such a freakin' beast !! I paid about $36 for it back in the day, I think it was $19 + 17 S/H. Mine's been through only two builds, and currently functions as my workbench rig.

    [​IMG]

    This was its original build. All of that gear was yanked out last year, replaced by an MSI 790X-G45 and a PII X4 965 B.E.

    The original Asrock 939 Dual SATAII board continues to live on, and if that board wouldn't have so many upgrade paths built into it's design it would have been retired a long time ago. It remains my all time favorite board.
     
    #58 WT, Sep 12, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
  9. Remobz

    Remobz Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem here is that all the Computer companies carry the cheap generic cases. By the time I do a serious upgrade its better to just buy a new cheap case.

    Bare in mind, to buy a quality case here one needs to do a special order from the USA which will cost three times what you pay for it by the time it clears customs and duties.

    I am in computer hell here:(
     
  10. kalrith

    kalrith Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    1
    I used my previous case for 3-4 builds, but bought a P280 a couple months ago for $70 AR. I really like the new case. It's quiet, roomy, and allowed me to route and tie down all my cables behind the motherboard tray.
     
  11. computergeek485

    computergeek485 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my rc-690 since 2008 and have seen many internal component upgrades at least 3-4 total hardware changes.
     
  12. ajemm

    ajemm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just finished my third build in my Antec Solo.
     
  13. e-g

    e-g Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still using my Chieftec Dragon aswell, got it with my first selfbuild back in 2002.

    Several mods, including top mounted 120mm hole, front USB ports, and tearing out some HDD bays, still make it a workable case, altho I've lost all the expansion slot covers, the front door, and several of the external bay covers along the way.

    Originally it held a Socket A setup including an Athlon XP1900+, ABit NF7-S V2.0, Geforce Ti4200. Fully watercooled. Good times......

    These days it just runs my i7 rig from 08, concidered replacing it back then, sometimes concidering replacing it still. But it does its job.

    Oh and yeah the apple for the haters.

    Btw, best case ever.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. loki8481

    loki8481 Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    42,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never rebuilt my entire computer at once... but defining a new build as a new motherboard, probably 3-4.

    I've had the same case (Antec P180) for about 10 years now.

    finally getting ready to replace it soon, after which it'll probably be relegated to the trash. I don't really have any need for a second desktop and after so long (and multiple moves), it's a bit too banged up to really think about selling.
     
  15. dougdoberman

    dougdoberman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Typically just one build per case, though on occasion I've put new guts in my #1 case and passed all the others on down the line.

    At the moment though, my #1 system is the third system that's been housed in the case it's in. That's just a temporary arrangement as I finish modding the TJ07 that it's destined for.

    I've still got some of my cases from the early to mid 90's waiting to maybe be used for the current oh-so-trendy retro beige case builds. :)
     
  16. ronopp

    ronopp Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a coolermaster haf932 with
    Three builds in it. Only because you can put any vid card made in it :)
     
  17. IndyColtsFan

    IndyColtsFan Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    32,077
    Likes Received:
    5
    Current case is a Cosmos S and I've used it for 2 builds and if I build again, it will be reused.
     
  18. MrK6

    MrK6 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,438
    Likes Received:
    0
    I switched cases a lot going from ATX to mico-ATX back to standard ATX, but I've had my CM 690II for two years and two builds now and I don't think I'll be changing any time soon. For me it's simply finding a case that does everything I want, and right now I have a great water setup that's completely internal. The case also has a ton of other features like a window, light switch, top HDD/SSD dock, fan filters, etc. that I use all the time and I also just really like the look of it aesthetically. I'll definitely stick with this case until I get sick of watercooling or no longer have the time to maintain it, and then I'll probably build a small mini-ITX box to go on my desk or something.

    Pic:
    [​IMG]
     
  19. brennok

    brennok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always plan on reusing my case, but I end up just building new in a new case. I tend to only build new ever few years though.