how do you ping an ip address and port number

Discussion in 'Networking' started by borosp1, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. borosp1

    borosp1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any ping cmd or tool that allows for pinging an ip address thats not a default port?

    i.e 192.168.xxx.x on port 1521

    Basically we are having a problem where I am timing out when I try to hit an oracle database on another server. I can ping the server IP and it returns 100%, but a tnsping of the db times out. Oracle uses port 1521 for communication.

    I think this is not feasable because probably the pinging of an ip of a server is on a designated port.



     
  2. dphantom

    dphantom Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not believe you can ping a specific port. You can count hops, resolve address to hostname, number of echo requests to send etc...
     
  3. wkinney

    wkinney Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    ping uses ICMP, which is part of the IP protocol, not UDP or TCP (in which ports are established).
    you can use programs that scan hosts for open ports, like superscan.exe, to see if its a network communication problem.

    edit:
    also, make sure your tnsnames.ora is set properly.
     
  4. spidey07

    spidey07 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    65,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can't "ping" a port per say as that is ICMP, not udp/tcp.

    Easiest way is to telnet to the port "telnet 10.1.1.1 1521"

    If it is immediately disconnected then the port is on a live host and is closed (or a firewall sent you a TCP reset). If a window opens the port is open. If it times out then you didn't reach the host/port (or a firewall dropped the packet)
     
  5. tami

    tami Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    11,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup. you can't ping a port, but you can attempt to access the service via telnet as spidey said.

    can you restart oracle?
     
  6. borosp1

    borosp1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys for the quick replys. The Oracle Server is working its just I cant ping from the 2 webservers. On a 3rd application server the pinging of the database works fine.

    I think its a network issue relating to the firewall and ports not being opened.
     
  7. spidey07

    spidey07 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    65,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    First rule of networking.

    1) It is never a network problem.

    Second rule

    2) Always the server/application, never a network problem. The network is fine. Nothing to see here, move along.
     
  8. brianswilson

    brianswilson Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The closest thing to what you are wanting is to do a "traceroute -p <port> <IP Address|machine name>". This will show the network route found using the port number you specified. Ping just shows that a network route exists; but does not check if firewalls may block the port number you are interested in. Traceroute (tracert for Windoze) will check the port and show the route found.
     
  9. Gryz

    Gryz Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    2
    A quick google shows that there is actually a version of traceroute that does what you want, using TCP-packets.
    http://linux.die.net/man/1/tcptraceroute
    No idea if something similar exists for Windows.

    If you run Linux, try to use that tool. It could give you an indication where the packets are blocked. If you don't run Linux, maybe you have a laptop with Linux lying around somewhere.

    This free utility could work too.
    http://www.elifulkerson.com/projects/tcping.php
    But it will only tell you: works or doesn't work. It won't tell you which router is blocking the packets.
    The same guy also has a tcp traceroute for windows.
    http://www.elifulkerson.com/projects/tcproute.php

    Best solution is always: quick phonecall to your network admin. There might be a reason stuff is blocked. If it's intentional or not, you probably need his help anyway to get your db-access working.