How do I install the proper ASPI Drivers w/o installing Adaptec Easy CD Creator???

Ronstang

Lifer
Jul 8, 2000
I ran ASPIchk.exe (from Adaptec) and it reports that my ASPI drivers are inproperly installed. The only burning software I have on my system is CloneCD and CDRWin 3.8. I have yet to make a succesful burn. I have the retail version of Easy CD Creator 4 Deluxe, but I really don't want to install it.

Howe do I properly install the ASPI files needed to use my burner? Is it possible to do this without Installing Easy Coaster creator? If so, where can I get the right files/programs to do this properly?

I'm new to using CD writers and their software so I really don't know where to go from here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

billandopus

Platinum Member
Dec 29, 1999
You have yet to make a successful burn? Seriously? For real?

When you installed CloneCd and/or CDRWin 3.8 AFAIK those programs install their own versions of ASPI, so to speak. ASPI seems to be the realm of Adaptec and other programs seem to have their own versions of ASPI installed during software installation. Of course, Adaptec's ASPIchk will always tell you that you have outdated ASPI layers installed. Are you sure it didn't say this?

Or did it tell you that ASPI layers were improperly installed?

If the latter then I would recommend uninstalling CloneCd (your burner supports it right?) and/or WinOnCd. BTW, sometimes two burning progs do not coexist together well so I would recommend just installing one first and see if it works properly.

Now, the reason why most people would run ASPIchk is to find out what ASPI layers they have installed after trying without success to install CDRIdentifier or other ID programs like that.