How can you take a screenshot of the CTRL ALT Delete dialog?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Chunkee, Jun 12, 2005.

  1. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    making a document and cannot capture the ctrl alt delete window

    any suggestions?

    JC
     
  2. Crusty

    Crusty Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    12,688
    Likes Received:
    1
    ask in the software forum?
     
  3. amol

    amol Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Messages:
    11,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    you mean the task manager?
     
  4. Juice Box

    Juice Box Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,615
    Likes Received:
    1
    which OS are we talkin here?
     
  5. lokiju

    lokiju Lifer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    18,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just use this maybe?
     
  6. ShadowBlade

    ShadowBlade Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    print screen key
    winkey+r mspaint enter
    ctrl+v
    done
     
  7. Jeff7181

    Jeff7181 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    18,340
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. cmdavid

    cmdavid Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you hold "alt" when you hit the "print screen" key it will take pic of only whatever program you are currently in.. for example, the task manager...
    then just paste it in any program of your choice, mspaint, photoshop.. whatever..
     
  9. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    i am running dual monitor, i have tried all that stuff....maybe it is ultramon..

    ??
     
  10. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    i am running xp pro on a domain
     
  11. mwtgg

    mwtgg Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    10,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, definitely a user error.
     
  12. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have used alt print screen and cannot get it
    prnt screen will not get it

    jc
     
  13. Kadarin

    Kadarin Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    44,310
    Likes Received:
    5
    What if you loaded that version of Windows within a vmware instance in some host OS?
     
  14. Jeff7181

    Jeff7181 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    18,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you hit Print Screen and then paste into an image editor, what happens? Is there just nothing to paste?
     
  15. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes

    it will work with the regular desktop, but when the CRTL ALT DELETE dialog is up, it will not work.

    jC
     
  16. SVT Cobra

    SVT Cobra Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,264
    Likes Received:
    1


    keyboard drivers installed?
     
  17. Jeff7181

    Jeff7181 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    18,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try going to Options and uncheck "always on top?" Dunno if it'll help, but can't hurt to try.
     
  18. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    print screen will get whole desktop, both monitors, alt printscrn gets the single monitor, but NEITHER work with CTRL ALT DELETE dialog up.

    jC
     
  19. DaveSimmons

    DaveSimmons Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    39,752
    Likes Received:
    310
    Yep, Print Screen works just fine in XP Pro with Task Manager running.

     
  20. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1


    thanks for the suggestion, but it did not work, can you get yours to work okay?
    jC
     
  21. The Pentium Guy

    The Pentium Guy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine works. Odd
     
  22. Jeff7181

    Jeff7181 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    18,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah... I don't run dual displays though. If you want shots of each tab I can do that for you no problem. Send ya the bitmaps so they don't look crappy from compression.
     
  23. n7

    n7 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21,304
    Likes Received:
    2
    Weird.

    I can take a screenie of the task manager using PrtScr with zero problems.
     
  24. Mrvile

    Mrvile Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow you guys are weird I use *shift* + *prt scr*
     
  25. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have a MS natural multimedia keyboard and the software for it, but dont think that matters. i am thinking it is ultramon, I will disable it and see.

    jC