Hooking up 2nd router to network

memory

Oct 3, 2010
Ok let me see if I can explain this right. I am no network pro at all, so may not know the right terms or use the right wording.

So we have a modem/router provided by the ISP in the house. Now there are 2 desktops hard wired and a laptop and a printer in the house connected wireless to that modem/router.

Now we have a building that is about 200ft away that we have ran a ethernet cable from the modem/router to inside the building. Internet in that building works fine as long as we connect to that cable.

Now what I want to do is to be able to have wireless internet inside that building. This is where I get really confused. I am guessing I need to hook up a router inside the building. How do I need to setup that additional router? The router I am using for the building is a Linksys wrt3200acm.

I have looked up a few guides on this but one issue I seem to be having is being able to connect to the 2nd router.

razel

Platinum Member
May 14, 2002
You need to set that wrt to AP (access point) mode. AP mode turns those wired Internet bits into wireless for that building. It will have it's own WiFi name (SSID) or a different one, the choice is yours.
The wrt3200 probably has 4 or 8 LAN ports. When set to AP last I tried you generally attach that one cable from the other building to the LAN port.

memory

Oct 3, 2010
How exactly do I go about setting it to AP mode? This is where I am having trouble. If I set the 2nd router to AP mode, will I be able to connect to it wireless and hard wired? Is AP mode the same as bridge mode?

What about cascading the 2nd router to the modem? Would that apply at all in this situation?

The wrt3200 has 4 LAN ports