Home Brewers: How Did You Get Your Start?

May 31, 2001
The local University is offering a class on home brewing that starts this evening. I've thought about learning to brew beer before, but have never had the time. This class is only one hour on Friday nights through the end of April though, so I think I could manage that.

shenaniganz

Golden Member
Aug 20, 2003
I just got started. Bottled my first batch on Tuesday. It should be carbonated in a couple weeks. I just can't wait that long. Hopefully it doesn't taste like sh!t. I think the best thing to do to get started is to learn by experience and read up on beer forums and books. But don't take my word for it, like I said, I am a total brewing noob.

Jan 18, 2001
it is really pretty easy, but it helps having a friend or someone show you the process. Thats how I got started. A buddy let me help him on a batch and after that I was hooked. That was about 10 years ago.

There are good books out there too, that could help yuou get started. If I were you I would take the course, because you will probably get to taste some different styles, see all the equipment and ingrediants. That would be helpful.

How to Brew is online, just google it, and its a great resource.

GagHalfrunt

Lifer
Apr 19, 2001
I got started with a local homebrew place, Maltose Express.

Caught a radio commercial they did about a sale on homebrew kits, all the basic equipment needed like brewpot, carboy, fermentation vat and lock, syphoning tubes, capper, etc. I'm a beer lover and it sounded like fun, so went to check them out. They were incredibly nice, talked me through the entire process, taught me how to use the gear, how to avoid beginners mistakes, how to find bottles cheap, good recipes, how altering recipes would change the character of the beer, etc. The guys were total homebrew gurus and were happy to share the knowledge. Walked out with all the gear, an excellent homebrew book and enough ingredients to do my first batch of pale ale.