Help with failed RAID controller

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Dug, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. Dug

    Dug Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,456
    Likes Received:
    1
    We had 1 drive fail in a RAID 1 configuration.
    Then the RAID controller went bad. (Confirmed after calling Dell)
    Before the new raid controller comes in, is there a way to make a duplicate of the good drive.

    I have a new hard drive that is the same.
    I have an external USB hard drive caddy.
    I've use clonezilla all the time to back up systems.

    I'm just worried about what a different windows machine would do to the drive if I plugged it in without using the same controller.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - failed RAID controller Forum Date
    New Intel RST RAID 10 rebuildling but no disks are failed Memory and Storage Jan 13, 2017
    RAID 5 performance after one failed hard drive Memory and Storage Aug 18, 2016
    3 HD's in RAID, in Intel RST mode, SSD Failed! Memory and Storage Sep 23, 2014
    Replace failed SATA 2 HDD with SATA 3 on RAID 1 Memory and Storage Jul 12, 2014
    How to create Raid 1 setup that is easily restored if the Controller fails? Memory and Storage Dec 21, 2008

  3. bigi

    bigi Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nah... too much trouble

    Set up your new array and restore your stuff from backup.
     
  4. heymrdj

    heymrdj Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,800
    Likes Received:
    11
    Each Raid 1 disk normally works by itself. When my 8308elp failed i just unplugged one of the raid 1 disks and plugged it into the main board as a normal disk and stint to boot. In fact server is still running off of the one disk as I'm getting ready to build into a new server, didn't want to waste money on another old controller.

    Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2