Help on a small company network

Raziel_LOK

Sep 19, 2014
Hi guys. I just started my work on a small a school.

We don't have any network infrastructure. The computers are 10 decades old. So I want to try to do the better and cheapest, so we can have a minimal structure for the computers and the upcoming ERP system. The thing is, because the school is inside a monastery, I can't just pass cables to everywhere.

I have some experience with network structure, but I just can't compare a building with 7 floors and 80+ computers. With a school with 2 floors and 30-40 computers. Do you guys think a wi-fi network with a good placed repeaters would work well? And what about servers and computers? I think a AD server, firewall, db server and some others I can't remember right now are mandatory in this case.

Can you guys give some directions for reading material and/or books that can help me with it.

Thank you.

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
A Monastery? As in, stone walls? Good luck with wireless in that case. Consider powerline, if wired for 120V AC.

Raziel_LOK

Sep 19, 2014
I mean a convent, but the walls are pretty large if that's what you mean. The actual wi-fi spots, can't be seen by devices from side rooms. But the ideia is to have a powerfull router on the corridor and one repeater at the door of each room that can't pass a cable.

EvaCarey

Sep 23, 2014
www.networking-basics.net
Wi-Fi networks have a range that's limited by the transmission power, antenna type, the location they're used in, and the environment. You can use a long range Wi-Fi. It is available in low cost.

drebo

Diamond Member
Feb 24, 2006
"Repeaters" are a terrible idea. Don't ever use them.

Wireless is fine, but you're going to have to run cables to every location where you want an access point. Look at a commercial managed wireless soltuion, such as Ruckus. Don't try to build this with a bunch of shitty $50 wireless routers you bought off Newegg.

Compman55

Golden Member
Feb 14, 2010