Help me pick a scsi controller

forrestroche

Apr 25, 2005
I am totally new to scsi - so can someone help me pick a controller card for this drive:

ST39102LC http://www.seagate.com/support/disc/specs/scsi/st39102lc.html

It is 9.1 gb (will use it just for OS/Program files), 10k rpm, 5.4ms access, 80 pin connector, ultra2. I know I will need 80-68 pin adapter and a cable. But help me pick a compatible controller that is not TOO expensive (I will also buy on ebay). I am interested in cost versus transfer rate and initialization time...

The drive cost 7.50 so what have I got to lose trying? Maybe later I will step up to 15k (if the price is right). So can you also help me consider cards that would work for both the ultra2 and a ultra320 15k drive later (as soon as I find one CHEAP)?

Once again, thanks for everone's help...

Forrest

mechBgon

Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
Oct 31, 1999
LSI Logic Ultra160 is an affordable plain-vanilla SCSI card for hard drives. If you can find an Adaptec 19160 for a good price, that would work too.

Don't expect miracles from a drive that old... even on a task that plays heavily to SCSI's strengths, it's going to be about the equivalent of a last-generation 8MB-cache 7200rpm ATA drive. If you do get into the hard drugs (15k drives), get the current-generation stuff or at least the previous-gen stuff, not some ancient first-gen 15k drive. It matters.

Pariah

Elite Member
Apr 16, 2000
What are you planning to use the drive for? To be perfectly honest, it's not even worth $7.50, and I would not spend any money on an adapter or controller for it either. That drive is 7 years old and would get outperformed by your average 5400RPM laptop drive.

gotsmack

Diamond Member
Mar 4, 2001
I'll sell you a retail kit (includes cable) adaptec 29160N and a 15K rpm 68 pin seagate 36 gig cheetah. for $255 shipped. I was going to post in FS but I'll give you first dibs

heat under gotsmack I take USPS MO

forrestroche

Apr 25, 2005