Help me pick a camera please...

Spoooon

Lifer
Mar 3, 2000
I've been playing around with a Panasonic superzoom for the past few years and am looking to upgrade. I want to learn a bit more about photography, but not quite sure if I want to start running around with an SLR, but I've been looking at both SLRs and mirrorless. I don't think I want to get another superzoom.

Looking to spend no more than $600. After spending a bunch of time at dpreview, I'm so far choosing between these:

Panasonic DMC-GF5K
Panasonic DMC-GX1K
Nikon D3200
Sony SLT-A37M

I'm not too interested in video, but it's nice to have. I kind of figure that, since I'm just beginning, I can't really go terribly wrong so long as I get something that's well reviewed. Thoughts?

edit: Random sampling of pics I tend to take: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/os4qta87ze14o1m/IG2tks_kDu

edit2: Ordered the SLT-A37M with the 18-55mm kit lens. :) Will be here on Tuesday. From what I read, the 18-55mm should be decent for general purpose. What else should I be saving my money for? Purchased "Understanding Exposure" and waiting. :D

Last edited:

Saylick

Diamond Member
Sep 10, 2012
I was on the fence about whether I should get a mirrorless or a DSLR as my first "serious" camera but I decided I didn't want to make the big jump from a P&S to a DSLR, so I got a used NEX-5 for cheap. Here's what I've learned:

1) I got used to my NEX-5 MUCH quicker than I expected (I was fluent with the Menu system within a few weeks of using the camera).
2) Although the compact size is nice, I am finding less and less reasons why I needed the small size to begin with. Plus, equipping a large lens quickly negates the smaller size of the body.
3) Mirrorless camera's generally lack the big benefits of a DSLR (i.e. autofocus speed, large selection of lenses, larger battery, etc) due to design trade-offs in getting everything packed into the smaller body.
4) I am taking photography way more seriously than I originally thought I would.