Help a newbie put together an i7 system :)

entropy1982

Golden Member
Jul 10, 2005
Hey guys, 3 years have passed since I built the system in my sig. I appreciate everyone who helped me pick out the right parts and overclock it.

I am now ready to give this one to my parents and get myself a new one.

I am a complete newbie at this point as I have been out of the loop for 3 years.

I have read a little bit about the i7 and it seems like that is the processor to get now.

I have about a 2500 dollar budget but of course if i will get negligible performance I am going with not spending an extra 500 dollars :)... I do not expect this to be a budget PC though I definitely want high end.

I will be overclocking... but not extreme overclocking. I am not interested in doing any custom work. I don't want to replace any existing fans from the case etc. So if cooling will not be good enough to get that extra 100mhz i'm ok with that :)

So I would like recommendations if anyone would be so kind to do so.

Case, PSU, Vid card (it seems like GTX275 is popular from the few posts i have read), heatsink, RAM, all of that.

Thanks for anyone that can help.

Lean L

Diamond Member
Apr 30, 2009
NEVER!

j/k...
Seriously though $2500? You could get a very powerful computer for $600. I'd say spend around $1000 on an i7 920 with 6GB at a resonable speed (you won't see much performance increase with DDR3 1333) and a Lian Li case if you want a quallity feel.

A5

Diamond Member
Jun 9, 2000
You'll get better advice on parts and stuff from the General Hardware forum. Just follow the format in the sticky, and you should be ok.

GarfieldtheCat

Diamond Member
Jan 7, 2005
Originally posted by: entropy1982
Hey guys, 3 years have passed since I built the system in my sig. I appreciate everyone who helped me pick out the right parts and overclock it.

I am now ready to give this one to my parents and get myself a new one.