having trouble installing XP Pro onto abit AT7 RAID 0 setup (EDIT: Now I can't get it to boot at all)

Jun 29, 2002
This is my first time setting up RAID. The AT7 MB comes with the HighPoint 374 RAID controller, and I used the built in utillity to setup the array. I insert the XP cd, reboot, and the setup screen appears. Now I've setup XP many times before on IDE and SCSI systems, but this is my first RAID attempt. It asks if I have any third party RAID controllers to install (I do), but pushing F6 (as it instructs) does nothing. It continues to load several drivers and files and finally says that it can't find a hard drive controller, and prompts me to insert a disk. I do, and select the appropriate driver. It continues to load more drivers and system files, and then I always get an error that usually says "the file ntfs.sys is corrupted". Sometimes it never even makes it that far, and I receive a "the file acpi.sys is corrupted" error message. I have tried using several different XP Pro cd's, so I'm pretty sure that isn't the problem. I have also tried swapping cd drives, but with the same results. I was just wondering if anybody else has had a similar experience or any ideas on how to get around this problem.

Jun 29, 2002
So I tried installing XP Pro onto just one drive on the regular IDE channel, and I'm having the same errors. At least I know that the RAID controller is not to blame here. I guess all 3 of the XP Pro cd's I've tried could be bad, but it's extremely doubtful that all 3 would produce the same read errors. I'm at a loss here guys, could you please shed some light on the situation, I was really hoping to play some Morrowind this weekend.

Technonut

Diamond Member
Mar 19, 2000
Sounds like you have something pushed too far. What do you have your FSB set at? What kind of RAM? To make it easier to help, please list your system specs and FSB/RAM timings.

Jun 29, 2002