Guitar Learners Alert: Youtube pulling guitar instructional videos!

Analog

Lifer
Jan 7, 2002
I've been learning to play for the last ~6 months, and I've found videos put on Youtube to be invaluable to me. Many are short clips on songs, or fingering techniques. Some have been suggested by people on this forum...

Anyhow, NPR alluded to some videos that contain well known songs to be infringement. Here is the NPR link:
Morning Edition, July 6, 2007 · Thousands of guitar students lost a valuable resource last week. The most popular guitar teacher on YouTube saw his more than 100 videos yanked from the site. The reason: a music company accused him of copyright infringement for an instructional video on how to play a Rolling Stones song.

http://www.npr.org/templates/s...d=11778602&ft=1&f=1043

Well, it happened. I really liked "Next Level Guitar" videos - some of the most highly rated on Youtube...

Not only are the song chord videos gone, but all of the basic instructional videos (why, I don't know - they were just chord fingering)... There was some great stuff... :(

Luckily, I used keepvid to save some of the ones I've been practicing, but I wish I downloaded more.

Anyhow, I managed to find a few still up on google video,
before the hatchet comes down. The link below is to 'wonderful tonight' by Clapton. On the right sidebar there is about 20 videos of instructional techniques that can still be downloaded if you're into that thing (until they're also nuked). I hope somehow this comes back in some form. There were a few songs I really should have gotten. TTFN.

http://video.google.com/videop...d=-5525150442912369489

Oct 4, 2004
WTF? That is the most retarded thing I ever heard. What's next, dubbing romantic songs over wedding videos is copyright infringement?

Oct 4, 2004