Good language for a 12yo to learn with?

bdazzled

May 9, 2013
My 12yo son has been wading into simple programming in his spare time. He's working on an old-school-style text adventure game with a rudimentary combat system, buying and selling, and things like that. The first I knew about his project was when he came to me for help debugging. I was both impressed and dismayed to learn that he had run up to 500 or so lines of code using MS Windows batch scripting 'language'!

I'd like to steer him into a language environment that would make it easier for what he's working on now, as well as opening up more possibilities as his skills grow (and making more sense as part of a learning path.)

I am not a computer professional. I learned BASIC as a kid and did a lot of math and scientific coding in the field of computational chemistry. I still do a bit of a shade-tree Fortran95/2k3 coding just for my own amusement. So clearly, I'm a decrepit old dinosaur, and have no idea what newer languages might be better for my son to learn. I want to encourage his development without killing the fun or de-railing him by forcing him to worry too much about 'under-the-hood' type stuff. I also don't want to just fall back the old "Well, I learned on BASIC, so you should too!" attitude.

I would appreciate any advice or suggestions. Thanks!

Markbnj

Elite Member <br>Moderator Emeritus
Sep 16, 2005
www.markbetz.net
BASIC was what I learned first as well, but I'm not sure you should steer him anywhere at this point. He's done something pretty rare, which is to pick up the nearest tool at hand and start writing code. It's not a great environment, but he's learning the first simple concepts. Pretty soon he will exhaust what he can do with it, and want to move on of his own accord. Until then I think I would just let him continue to experiment and help where you can.

Merad

Platinum Member
May 31, 2010