GeForce FX 5800 Ultra preview

OatMan

Aug 2, 2001
OK, I'm no rocket scientist.

Did I understand hard OCP's article? It seemed to me to paint a significantly different picture than do any of the other reviews? It seems to show the GFX as marginally ahead of the R9700 generally, as opposed to margianlly behind in the other articles I've read.

It seems like a fair shake tho and pretty much comes to the same conclusions as the others. I'm just wondering if this points to inconsistent hardware as these cards are refference samples and not shipping silicon. The test beds and methodologies are also different from site to site, AMD hardware "hOCP" and P4 hardware AT. Also I didn't compaire the driver versions, so it might not be apples and apples...

anyway I think HOCP is bang on in calling it a Preview and not a Review.

Good stuff!

May 15, 2002
nVIDIA is in deep trouble, if this preview is indicative of real performance. Takes up two slots, pumps out 60dB of fan noise, and barely (if at all) beats ATI's offering. I smell "failure" here...

Xentropy

Sep 6, 2002
Originally posted by: OatMan

Did I understand hard OCP's article? It seemed to me to paint a significantly different picture than do any of the other reviews? It seems to show the GFX as marginally ahead of the R9700 generally, as opposed to margianlly behind in the other articles I've read.

The issue is that most reviews--including, to my dismay, Anandtech's--are comparing the 5800 Ultra's HQ aniso settings to the 9700 Pro's LQ settings. Anand uses the excuse that, for now, the 9700 Pro's LQ setting looks "almost as good" as both of the card's HQ settings. The problem is, the HQ settings are similar, but the FX's HQ still beats the 9700's LQ, and my personal opinion is it's simply a driver issue and nVidia will fix the LQ to look better. So, comparing apples to apples, HQ to HQ, something Anand didn't do in this case, the FX is 20% faster, which is about what everyone expected.

Glitchny

Diamond Member