GeForce 7600 woes - please help

kurto

Apr 17, 2008
Novice here trying to do my first build. Pluged in my monitior to crank it up the first time and it just says no signal. Tried monitor on another computer and it is fine. Here are the specs

GeForce 7600 GT video card
MSI K9A2 Platinum mobo
Rosewill RX750-S-B ATX12V power supply
2 gigs ram

I do have it pluged into PCI Express slot. Fan does not come on - though not sure if it only does once it heats up.

The card is really tight length wise - it kinda pushed the case out a bit on the backside.?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks again
Kurto

BernardP

Golden Member
Jan 10, 2006
The videocard fan should come on as soon as the computer boots. It's possible that there is no power to the PCI-E slot or that the videocard is dead. Things to do: try the videocard in another computer...Try another videocard in your build.

The 7600GT is a short card. Why is is tight lenghtwise? Something blocking it (extra HDD)?. If so try removing the extra HDD to leave enough space for the card. Maybe this would allow for better seating of the card.

kurto

Apr 17, 2008
Thanks for the reply. I don't believe the card is a short card. The insert slot on the bottom of the card doesn't span the entire PCIE slot. However, the card itself is quite a bit longer. There is nothing in the way that is making it tight. It is a matter of the card pins are all the way to the inside edge of the PCI slot (toward middle of mobo). This makes it squeeze tightly against the outside of the casing (back of computer). I had to give it more persuasion than I would have expected it to make it fit. It does seem to be seated all the way in.