Gas Range -- clicking

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by rivan, May 9, 2011.

  1. rivan

    rivan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    My Viking 6-burner gas cooktop keeps clicking after the burner that's on has lit. I've googled around and while there are a number of possible culprits, the spark 'plugs' at each burner are ALL sparking, even though only one burner is supposed to be on.

    Does that mean my spark module is bad, rather than it being a dirt problem? They're all clean, except at their bases, where there's some hard-to-reach gunk - all very far from where the spark came from.

    It's unplugged (suggested on some forums) right now.
     
  2. lxskllr

    lxskllr Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,133
    Likes Received:
    933
    Sounds like it's brain is screwed up. All my gas stuff is ancient. Do new ones use a computer?
     
  3. ElFenix

    ElFenix Super Moderator and Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    96,654
    Likes Received:
    452
    they all spark every time you light it. much simpler that way rather than having a controller for each.

    turn it down from the 'light' setting. high is actually a little down the dial from light.
     
  4. Pardus

    Pardus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    15
    most likely the lighter module is defective. if you put a match over it, will it light that way?

    also, you prob want to have it serviced, as gas may be coming out without your knowledge and all it takes it one spark to go boom.
     
  5. KK

    KK Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    15,887
    Likes Received:
    2
    huh, so when you turn one knob to light, all 6 click(which is normal, atleast on mine) the one you turned on ignites, then you turn it back off the light position and the clicking still clicks?
     
  6. rivan

    rivan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    There's a 'spark module' but the diagram on the bottom of the unit doesn't make me think it's a computer.

    I was wondering if that wasn't normal and I just never noticed. It doesn't sound any louder than normal. Our switches have no "light" setting - but I can turn them all the way down 'simmer' and they still click.

    Yes, they light. There's spark coming from them all.



    When I turn it (whichever one I'm testing) off, the clicking stops. But even after lighting, they all keep clicking.
     
  7. CPA

    CPA Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    30,326
    Likes Received:
    2
    They should all click when you turn any know. My Jenn-Air does the same thing. However, they should stop clicking once you move it from 'Light'.
     
  8. Eli

    Eli Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    50,430
    Likes Received:
    3
    This
     
  9. ElFenix

    ElFenix Super Moderator and Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    96,654
    Likes Received:
    452
    from this article it sounds like that's actually a safety feature and designed to continue sparking
    http://www.ehow.com/how_7632348_do-electronic-ignition-viking-range.html



    edit:
    apparently that feature should turn itself off when a flame is detected
    http://www.fixya.com/support/t844482-spark_ignition_continues_spark


    edit: try the ground screw?
    http://www.fixya.com/support/t1433564-viking_stove_electronic_ignition_keeps
     
    #9 ElFenix, May 9, 2011
    Last edited: May 9, 2011
  10. drnickriviera

    drnickriviera Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    10
    My Thermador only sparks the burner you are trying to light, so that may not be the normal operation of sparking all of them
     
  11. Analog

    Analog Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have Wolf range that had the same issue after about 8 years of use. There is a thermocouple that picks up the fact that the burner is on and then shuts off the spark. This is all controlled by the spark module. I had to replace it - not too difficult. It was located in the back of the stove, so I had to pull it away from the wall to affect repair, which was the hardest part (its a heavy son of a bitch). Yes, and they all do spark.

    As a side note, shop around for the part. I found a wide range of prices for the same thing.
     
  12. Ghiedo27

    Ghiedo27 Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also clean the thermocouple with some compressed air and then some rubbing alcohol. I have a heater that seems to deposit some kind of residue on the thermocouple and it needs to be cleaned every so often.
     
  13. Texashiker

    Texashiker Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    18,288
    Likes Received:
    34
  14. rivan

    rivan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll give these a shot - thanks.

    I've got what appears to be easy access to the spark module - it's just a cooktop rather than a stove.

    What will this look like? Are they at the burners or the module inside the unit?
     
  15. rivan

    rivan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome.

    So I get home last night, armed with a 3-pack of canned air, and fine my cooktop's no longer malfunctioning.

    I didn't do anything, now it works.