Gaming PC Build. Peer Review Please!

octaz

Oct 22, 2012
Hello

I've been looking forward to getting back to PC gaming for a while now and the stars seem to be aligning. It's getting cold out, battlefield 4 is coming out, and i have money throw out (hooray for money!)

In any case, I'd like to hear what you guys think about the build i've scrapped together. Essentially, it's Mfenn's most recent build but replaced with a Nvidia graphics card. I did this because i heard that NVIDIA is better designed for stereoscopic graphics, and I will eventually be getting the oculus rift so I'd like it to look and run well.

Other general notes: It's my first build, I don't plan on overclocking, and maybe I'd upgrade in the future but that's not a priority. What is a priority is durability, which includes power and cooling. I'm not even an apprentice in pc building and that's why I'm basing it on Mfenn's build, so please let me know if i'm gonna be running hot or underpowered and jeopardizing my valuable investment.

Will this include everything that is needed for the computer? (will it have all the cables, thermal paste, fans, etc?). This may be stupid but I don't need a networking card, correct? (That was like in the early 2000's but it's been awhile).

Lastly, will the onboard sound card be able to handle one of those fancy surround sound headphones (like the ones with 8 channels?) If there is a mobo out there that can support that and isn't too much more expensive (and isn't gonna create a major headache for building with compatible components) i would upgrade, but it's not enough of a priority to change up my whole build.

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/octaz/saved/2xEL
CPU Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Combo or $239.99
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Pro3 ATX LGA1150 Combo or $104.99
Memory Team Vulcan 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 $68.98
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" SSD $174.99
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM $59.98
Video Card Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670 2GB $334.99