Friend Buying Recertified Alienware Rage

iamskew

Aug 17, 2004
TL;DR: Incompetent friend bought recertified Alienware Aurora R3, plans to sell RAM/video cards and put in new ones. Never built a PC, part of part sale includes installing SLI setup & RAM in guy's computer. Meanwhile, he planned to magically use his computer without a video card for 3 months. Rage ensued.

I haven't posted here in ages, but my friend has pissed me off so royally that I had to post somewhere.

So, my buddy has been bugging me for months, while I'm in my last semester of school, about building him a new computer. His nagging finally gets the best of me (I finally get excited at the prospect of building another computer, my 5th or so I guess) and I spend several hours researching the latest parts and pricing them out.

He's originally obsessed with getting the best of the best, core i7, gtx 570, top of the line mobo, too much ram, etc. etc. I price something out at like $1800.

I tell him we can build it after my exams in late December, or he'd have to wait until after the bar exam in March for me to build it with him. He won't have the money in December, so we decide to wait until March.

Well, he's impatient, so he starts doing his own research and stumbles upon a recertified alienware here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883155310

Granted, at $1,009 it's not the worst deal I've ever seen. On top of that, someone is going to buy the two GTS 450s and the RAM for $225. That brings the price down to $784. He plans to add at least 8 gb of ram (~$45) and a gtx 570 (~$360). I figure there's a chance he'll need a new power supply, and he definitely will at some point because he has discussed going SLI later on down the line when the price of 570s drop. So, a new power supply will run ~$140. That takes him back up to $1329.