FreeNAS Questions

TigCobra

Dec 17, 2010
So I am thinking about setting up a small instance of FreeNAS.

Was going to use a Intel Celeron G4900 Coffee Lake processor with some basic ram. This is a super low cost build, and will mainly be used as a file share for Plex Content. I was wondering if I am going to take a pretty big hit from using a low-end Dual Core processor for this?

mxnerd

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2007
https://www.freenas.org/hardware-requirements/

8GB minimum required. I have no personal experience, however.

I just don't get why everyone wants to setup a FreeNAS? Because it's hip / fancy?

The hefty requirement is just ridiculous.

Why not install Plex server and share a folder on a 4GB Windows box?

When something goes wrong, you can easily handle a Windows NTFS disk.

Last edited:
Reactions: dave_the_nerd

thetuna

Nov 14, 2010
FreeNAS works fine with less ram.
The ram requirements really only start to get crazy if you want to use zfs deduplication.
As long as you're not planning to run Plex on the server itself, it should be fine.

(Note; I only have experience with version 9. I don't know if they did anything crazy in the new version.)

Anteaus

Platinum Member
Oct 28, 2010
https://www.freenas.org/hardware-requirements/

8GB minimum required. I have no personal experience, however.

I just don't get why everyone wants to setup a FreeNAS? Because it's hip / fancy?

The hefty requirement is just ridiculous.

Why not install Flex server and share a folder on a 4GB Windows box?

When something goes wrong, you can easily handle a Windows NTFS disk.

I think people are attracted to it because it's free and relatively turnkey. Windows licenses cost money and many of the fit for purpose linux distros are still a pita to setup for people who don't know linux.

If you aren't using RaidZ and instead mount drives as individual shares, FreeNAS can make a great simple PLEX server. 8GB and ECC are really only needed for Raid Z.