eBay question: Item I bought is being sent to wrong address

Status
Not open for further replies.

dullard

Elite Member
May 21, 2001
I'm a newbie at eBay and so I'm probably partly at fault (but eBay certainly is at fault too).

I had an eBay account when I lived at an old address. With that account I bought something and had it shipped to my then GF's address (now my address). Flash forward a year and I've married her and moved in with her. To sell an item, I opened a Paypal account at the new address (and had Paypal confirm the new address). I then wanted to buy an item with the proceeds. I went to eBay and updated my eBay address to the new address. Within 1 minute, I bought an item with Buy-It-Now. However, eBay gave the seller my old address.

I know, I should have waited a few days after updating my eBay address. But I wasn't thinking. The seller says repeatedly that he'll only ship to Paypal confirmed addresses (which should be my new address since Paypal never had my old address) but refuses to ship to my new address.

Do I wait for it to be shipped and hope to convince the shipper to switch addresses? Do I cancel payment and reorder? Do I let the shipper return it as undelivered and then reorder? Or do I just chalk it up to a bit of lost cash that I'll never see again?

Last edited:

arcenite

Lifer
Dec 9, 2001
How far away do you live from your old residence? Any reason why you can't intercept?

dullard

Elite Member
May 21, 2001
How far away do you live from your old residence? Any reason why you can't intercept?
Same town, 20 minutes away. I don't know the new residents, but I could try to find a way to contact them.

nanobreath

May 14, 2008