Question Dual Monitor setup for Gaming/Photo Editing

In2Photos

Golden Member
Mar 21, 2007
About a year ago I started playing video games with my kids when they bought a PS4 and I re-purposed a PC for my son. I ended up getting my own PS4 a few months later so all 3 of us could play together. Fast forward a few months and I have now started playing games on my PC. So far I am enjoying the PC experience despite the fact that my PC, monitors, and peripherals are ancient. Currently I am gaming on an i7-920 with 6GB DDR3 RAM at 1333 MHz which I built over 10 years ago for photo editing (which I still do on occasion but not as much any more). The GPU is a GTX 1060 6GB and was an oops of sorts. I upgraded a video card for my son's PC and originally bought him the 1060 only to realize a 1660 could be had for just a few bucks more. The restocking fee on the 1060 wasn't worth it so I put it in my machine. The PC does OK for now and a new build is planned down the road. Instead I am going to focus on monitors and peripherals for now. And the monitors have me completely stumped on what to do!

Currently I am using a Dell 2209WA, which is a 22" IPS panel, 1680x1050, and a Samsung 915N which is a 19" 1280x1024. I've enjoyed both monitors for many years, but neither cut it for gaming. So I've been lamenting over what to do. For my space I think the largest monitor I would want is a 24". I've played around on my son's 27", but sitting that close is too immersive, almost giving me a dizzy feeling. I'm a little bit OCD and have always wanted dual monitors that are the same for symmetry purposes, but I have yet to own any, so maybe that isn't so important. So that leads me to 4 options:

1. Buy 2 of the same monitors
2. Buy a "gaming" monitor and a "photo editing monitor"
3. Buy a gaming monitor and use my Dell 2209WA for photo editing
4. Get an ultrawide

Pro and cons of each.