The Godfather

Platinum Member
Jan 13, 2005
Hi. This is my first time registering a .com domain so idk how this works. Basically i just bought the 4$/year plan, and registered a domain. They said that it will be active in 24 hours. When i go to my control panel (this is 5 minutes after i registered it) i don't see where i have to put the links of all my html's, folders.. everything?

dighn

Lifer
Aug 12, 2001
if you only registered for a domain, you also need to get a web host. I recommend www.hostpc.com

alternatively you could host it on your own machine, but you need a static IP, a whole bunch of setup and configuration and have to keep your machine on 24/7

Rip the Jacker

Diamond Member
Dec 29, 2004
Namecheap pwns.
Usually you have to set the nameservers to what your host tells you to use, like ns1.yourhost.com and ns2.yourhost.com in CPanel or a similar administration panel.

The Godfather

Platinum Member
Jan 13, 2005
Nono.. I can host my files on an ftp server i have access to. I just wanna know where do i do that? In the control panel i dont see the space. Do i have to wait for the 24 hours?

Rip the Jacker

Diamond Member
Dec 29, 2004
Originally posted by: The Godfather
Nono.. I can host my files on an ftp server i have access to. I just wanna know where do i do that? In the control panel i dont see the space. Do i have to wait for the 24 hours?

Well, I don't know about other domain name registrars but I got my .com domain to work in less than 5 minutes with Namecheap.

Sid59

Lifer
Sep 2, 2002

i don't follow.

you have an ftp server, i assume the server that's gonna host all your files. You should be able to upload to this server regardless of a resolving DNS, provided that you have the IP of the ftp.

you're domain needs nameservers in which it points to a server, the same server where you host your files.

after your domain resolves through all the fancy stuff, you're gonna pretty much use the domain as the ftp login (usually).