Do you consider yourself a computer nerd?

SlickWilly

Banned
Oct 30, 1999
I used to think I could be classified as a computer nerd....until I met with a Linux user group and met some REAL computer nerds. Hehe. I think knowledge-wise I would definitely be a computer nerd, but I'm not your classic personal hygein lacking computer nerd with taped up glasses :)

warlord

Golden Member
Oct 25, 1999
depends on who I'm talking to. when I talk to my neighbor, I may as well live on my comp, she didn't even know what a file was :Q but just like slickwilly said, then I talk to other people and I am just a newbie ;)

I guess I would have to say yes, since I am learning linux on my own, for fun. :)

Stark

Diamond Member
Jun 16, 2000
nerd is an insult.
geek is a compliment.

My name is Stark, and I'm a computer geek.

The Dancing Peacock

Diamond Member
Dec 22, 1999
I'm definitely the geek in my group of friends. I'm always the one they ask for computer help. But some of the guys I work with, are definitely way more geeky than me.

I also concur with SlickWilly and Brooks. :)

late.

TDP

hubbs

Platinum Member
Mar 26, 2000
A lot of my friends ask me also what to do when they can't get something to work. But I really don't like to call my self a geek. I would rather be referred to as GURU.

Mday

Lifer
Oct 14, 1999
nope.

i am not a computer. but i am a nerd.

so there is no way that i can be a computer nerd. :p

i am a member geekdom at large.

0beron

Jun 1, 2000
<-----I proudly wear the Nerd picture. :p

(I don't consider being called a Nerd an insult.)

But, I'm with Mday... I'm not a computer. ;)
(hehe... I think only a Nerd could find that funny! :D )

&quot;...we call that the Dennis Miller ratio.&quot; -Frink (The Simpsons)

rastaman

Mar 13, 2000
I would consider myself a computer geek, or nerd. All my friends, relatives, parents' friends, etc always ask me for help. I take it as a compliment though.

RSI

Diamond Member
May 22, 2000