DNC clarification

deathstorm78

Oct 1, 2007
Okay, I'm really new to the whole DNC and how it works. I've been reading up and found some info here and there. I think I basically get the concept, but the H. Clinton thing(I'll explain) is what confuses me.

Was it the DNC's position and by agreement of the candidates that delegates/superdelegates would be the determining factor? From what I understand the answer is yes. Did all candidates involved originally agree to this by virtue of being a member running for candidacy via the DNC?

There are only 100ish delegates/superdelegates left. H. Clinton needs 200ish to win? How is it possible for her to win when there aren't sufficient votes left?

Why was popular vote ever discussed as a means for H. Clinton to win? Is the DNC able to decide either way by popular vote or delegate/superdelegates?

Fern

Elite Member
Sep 30, 2003
The party nomination process is governed by the parties themselves. Political parties are private organizations and can do what they want. This is unlike the *real* election, which is governed by the Constitution and the states.

The current rules have been in place for a long time. The Super D's were introduced a longtime ago, and AFAIK regular delegates have always existed.

The DNC controls the rules. The candidates themselves basically have nothing to do with them but either follow them or complain about them. The DNC doesn't need the candidates' approval of it's rules.

The popular vote has NEVER decided the nominee AFAIK.

In fact, in 1968 the Dems chose as Prez nominee a person who did not even run in the primaries. The delegates all just decided to switch their support and nominate someone their votes never voted for.