DIY'ers i need help! (DIY headphone amp)

stev0

Diamond Member
Dec 9, 2001
i want to build this: http://headwize2.powerpill.org/projects/showproj.php?file=cmoy2_prj.htm to power some sennheiser 580's. i'm a newb to electronics, as far as soldering on capacitors and things like that, i do have some soldering skills though (from working on rc cars and things like that)... what do i need? what do i need to know? for 25-30 bucks i might as well try this before i go and spend a ton of money on a prebuilt one.. right?

tweakmm

Lifer
May 28, 2001
you can get a much higher quality amp for alot less with a DIY aproach
I really need to build an amp for my cans

stev0

Diamond Member
Dec 9, 2001
Originally posted by: tweakmm
you can get a much higher quality amp for alot less with a DIY aproach
I really need to build an amp for my cans

explain.. i'm listining :) well... reading ;)

Lithium381

Lifer
May 12, 2001
i'm in the middle of building a small amp, it works fine with headphones, but i mainly want to use it for a general pre-amp.....consisting of dual LM386 chips(one per channel)......they worked fine with my guitar until i dropped it, DOH, havne't gotten around to finishing that project up....

stev0

Diamond Member
Dec 9, 2001
Originally posted by: clarkmo
Won't the Boostaroo work for your cans? Seems like a cheap solution.

meh.. thats a easy way out :p doing it the hard way i'm learning and finding something to occupy my time that would be spent playing cs or pos... erm, neffing on at. :)

Templeton

Oct 9, 1999