Dev Decision DRM Free or to Steam

Apr 22, 2013
As a developer I'm getting pull around by the CRM free craze that's happening. On one hand I love to provide hassle free games but on the other, I dont want to get my games pirated and end up broke and on the street.

I'm thinking of releasing our new game DRM Free as a Kickstarter pre-sell promo. what are your thoughts as to if this is a good idea??

thanks and I look forward to seeing what you all say

KaOTiK

Lifer
Feb 5, 2001
Why not offer both? Plenty of indie devs offer their game when you buy it from them as DRM free download and also give you a Steam key so you can use that if you want it on Steam as well.

BrightCandle

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
Steam is DRM. There is no non DRM version on steam.

Offering both a DRM free version and steam will give you both the market penetration for those that don't care about DRM and the DRM free version for those that don't want DRM.

If you were only going to do one, I would take the no DRM version every time.

KaOTiK

Lifer
Feb 5, 2001
I'm the opposite. I have so many games that I don't bother with a game 99% of the time if it isn't on Steam. I do use Origin/Good Old Games as well when I have too but they also at least centralize the games. The only games I don't have on one of those accounts is MMO's simply because. I simply can not keep track of the amount of games I have without using something that gathers them all up and never having to worry about what site I bought the game at.

Basically, if there isn't a Steam version offered (and it isn't a GOG game) then the odds are I am probably not going to bother with the game at all. If they do offer a Steam version, I will buy it from the devs website so they get a bigger cut but I will just copy and paste the Steam key and activate it on my account.

natto fire

Diamond Member
Jan 4, 2000